Exterior of Roudebush Hall

Distinguished Scholar

In this program, Miami faculty members nominate their peers to be recognized for outstanding research and scholarly activities. The Scholars, named by the Committee on Faculty Research (CFR) and the Office for the Advancement of Research and Scholarship (OARS), receive a grant for the pursuit of further research or creative endeavor.

For additional information about this program, visit the Office for the Advancement of Research and Scholarship (OARS). Nominations for 2017 are due by January 20, 2017.  Please use the following form to submit a nomination.

Award Recipients

The following are recipients of the Distinguished Scholar award, presented during the University Awards Ceremony.


David Berg

Department of Biological Sciences

Jonathan Strauss

Department of French and Italian

Janaradan Subedi

Department of Sociology

Mahmud Khan

Department of Physics

Brian Meyers

Department of Music

April Smith

Department of Psychology


Cameron Hay-Rollins

Department of Anthropology

Elise Clerkin

Department of Psychology

Rick Page

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Leland Spencer

Department of Integrative Studies