Scripps small group

University Promotion and Tenure Committee


The Committee is charged with making promotion and tenure recommendations to the Provost. These recommendations may relate to University‑wide promotion and tenure policies and procedures or to individuals being recommended for promotion and/or for the conferral of tenure.


The Committee consists of the Provost as chair, the deans of the academic divisions, the Graduate Dean, the Dean of the Regional Campuses, and six tenured members of the instructional staff (at least one of whom is based on a regional campus) appointed by the President as members for staggered three-year terms. The Chair of the University Promotion and Tenure Committee will appoint a representative from the Office of the University Secretary to serve as secretary without vote.



  • Phyllis Callahan, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs,


Faculty Members

Term ends 2018

Term ends 2019

Term ends 2020

Administrative Support