Academic Divisions and Departments

Miami University has seven academic divisions: College of Arts and Science, Farmer School of Business, School of Creative Arts,School of Education, Health, and Society, School of Engineering and Applied Science, Regional Locations and Graduate School.

Within the undergraduate divisions are the academic departments, offering major and minor programs. So, for example, if your major is software engineering, you are in the School of Engineering and Applied Science. All majors, minors, degrees, and certificate programs are listed in the General Information chapter.

For a degree, you must fulfill three sets of requirements: the Global Miami Plan for Liberal Education or the Honors Plan for Liberal Education, the requirements of your academic division, and the requirements of your major. If you have admission prerequisites to be met, those also must be completed. Often these requirements overlap; that is, one course may fulfill several requirements.

Back to top