The coast of Albania.

Albania is situated on the eastern shore of the Adriatic Sea, with Montenegro and Serbia to the north, Macedonia to the east, and Greece to the south. Slightly larger than Maryland, Albania is composed of two major regions: a mountainous highland region (north, east, and south) constituting 70% of the land area, and a western coastal lowland region that contains nearly all of the country's agricultural land and is the most densely populated part of Albania.

Albania is a parliamentary republic with a unicameral parliament, the National Assembly. The head of state in Albania is the president, who is elected for a five-year term by a two-third majority of the parliament. The President has no legislative or executive power, but represents the state in foreign relations, and is chief commander of the army. Since July 2007, the President of Albania has been Bamir Topi, an academic who once served as agriculture minister and leader of the Democratic Party.

Albania applied for membership to the European Union on 28 April 2009. 

Albanian Media

Balkan Insight

Foundations in Albania

Albanian American Development Foundation

Government and Politics

Albanian Embassy, Washington, DC

Albanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (in Albanian)

BBC News Europe: Albania Profile

CIA World Factbook: Albania

Constitution of the Republic of Albania

Library of Congress Country Study: Albania

Official Website of the President of the Republic of Albania

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE): Presence in Albania

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Albania to the United Nations

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Albania Maps

Republic of Albania Parliament

United Nations Development Program--Albania

United States Embassy in Tirana, Albania


Academy of Sciences of Albania

National Library of Albania (in Albanian)

Human Rights

Albanian Human Rights Project

Child Info: Albania_Women_and Children_Report

Language and Literature

Albanian Literature

Omniglot: Albanian