Countryside of Montenegro with mountains and river.

Montenegro is a country in southeastern Europe, located on the Balkan Peninsula. From 1946 to 1991 Montenegro was part of a larger federal state of Yugoslavia, which also included the republics of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Serbia, and Slovenia. That Yugoslav state broke apart in 1991 when several of the republics declared their independence. In 1992 Serbia and Montenegro proclaimed themselves the successor state to Yugoslavia and took the name Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY). This union dissolved in June 2006 after the people of Montenegro voted in favor of independence from Serbia.

Balkanology: Explore Southeast Europe—Montenegro

Government of Montenegro

Montenegro Travel—The Official Site for Tourism in Montenegro