A town in Serbia with mountains in the dropback

From 1946 to 1991, Serbia was part of a larger federal state of Yugoslavia, which consisted of Serbia and five other republics: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, and Slovenia. That Yugoslav state broke apart in 1991, when several of the republics declared their independence. In 1992 Serbia and Montenegro proclaimed themselves the successor state to the former Yugoslavia and took the name Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY). This union dissolved in June 2006, when Serbia and Montenegro became separate, independent nations.

An independent radio and television station in Belgrade, which began as a student radio station. The site includes daily news updates.

The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
Responsible for trying serious violations of International Humanitarian Law in the territory of the former Yugoslavia. The ICTY is a part of the United Nations Security Council.