Macintosh Language Keyboards

These instructions are optimized for Macintosh OS 10.14.x (Mojave)

You can type in a language that uses a different writing system (or “script”) from yours without having a keyboard designed for that language. The language you write in can also be different from the language used in your menus and dialogs. These instructions will guide you through keyboard setups for users running Mac OS X 10.9.x.

To turn on the input source for a language:

  1. Choose Apple menu,  System Preferences, and the Keyboard Preference Pane.

    Mac Keyboard Setup 1
  2. Select the Input Sources button.
    Mac Keyboard Setup 2
  3. To add a new keyboard, click the "+" button in the lower-left-hand corner of the preference pane.

  4. Scroll in the left-hand pane to choose your language, and select the keyboard layout of that language that you wish to use.

    Mac Keyboard Setup 3
  5. Click the Add button to add your language and preferred keyboard layout.

  6. Continue adding languages and keyboard layouts as needed.

    We recommend the following keyboard layouts for the languages you are learning:

    Arabic = Arabic - QWERTY
    Chinese = Pinyin - Simplified
    Hebrew = Hebrew - QWERTY
    Japanese = Enable Hiragana, Katakana, and Romanji
    Korean = 2-Set Korean and 3-Set Korean
    Russian = Russian - Phonetic
    Languages using Roman Letters = English ABC - Extended

  7. When you are finished, select the “Show input menu in menu bar” checkbox.

  8. Close out the system preferences to finish.

To choose the language to type in:

Choose the input source for that language from the Input menu (looks like a flag or character) in the menu bar. When you choose an input source that doesn’t match the keyboard you have, the keys you see (and press) on your keyboard may be different from the characters that are displayed when you type. To see what keys to press to produce different characters, you can use the Keyboard Viewer.

Macintosh Keyboard Setup