Student News

Kelly MasonKelly Mason was selected as the 2017-18 James Hershberger Memorial Award winner. Kelly graduated in May (BS Biochemistry major) and will start graduate school at the University of Missouri in the Fall. Kelly worked in the lab of Michael Crowder. She plans on attending graduate school in the Fall.

Zahilyn Roche Allred was selected as one of the top two doctoral student presenters at the 2017 Miami Graduate Research Forum.

Madison Kearns
Knippling Scholar, Madison
Kearnswith Jim and Alice
Knipplingand Mike Crowder.

Madison Kearns (BS Chemistry, class of 2021) is our current Knippling Family scholar. The Knippling scholarship was established by the Knippling family in memory of Jim Knippling, who was a chemist that developed a chemical widely used in dry cleaning.

Justin Pratt was awarded a 2018 Phi Kappa Phi Love of Learning Award.

Justin Pratt was awarded the Dissertation Scholarship. Justin works in the lab of Ellen Yezierski.

Gunjan Dixit, Michael Allegrezza, Dan Drew, and Caitlyn Thomas were awarded Outstanding TA awards.

Krystina Hird and Matt Morris were awarded Beckman Scholarships. Krystina works in Carole Dabney Smith’s lab, and Matt works in Rick Page’s lab. The announcement of these scholarships was highlighted in Miami News (, in Miami Matters, and in the Dean’s Alumni Newsletter.