Greek Amphora

Awards and Accomplishments

For all awards/prizes, the nomination for the award is based on a vote by the Departmental Faculty.

The Bishop-Elliott Prize:
An award to a student for excellence in the study of Classical Humanities.

  • 2013-2014 Recipients: Sam Fogle and Shea Hendry
  • 2012-2013 Recipients: Kristie Fernberg and William Larrick
  • 2011-2012 Recipients: Joseph Luizz, Joseph Luizzi, and Kyle Resnick
  • 2010-2011 Recipient: Jessica Gerber

The Bishop Latin Prize:
Awarded to a student for excellence in the study of Latin and to a teacher for excellence in teacher preparation in Latin.

  • 2013-2014 Recipients: Grace Clements and Karen Krumpak
  • 2012-2013 Recipient: Karen Krumpak
  • 2011-2012 Recipient: Mary Hannah Sanders
  • 2010-2011 Recipient: Christopher Dobbs

The Elliott Greek Prize:
Awarded to a student for excellence in Greek Study.

  • 2013-2014 Recipient: Stephanis Krause
  • 2012-2013 Recipients: Tyler Gau and Stephanie Krause
  • 2011-2012 Recipients: Armandine Kaplan and Virginia Grinch
  • 2010-2011 Recipient: Katherine Spaulding

The Henry C. Montgomery Classics Scholarship:
To Provide a departmental scholarship in honor of Henry C. Montgomery, Professor Emeritus of Classics, to an outstanding student at Miami who is majoring in Classics with preference given to a student in the sophomore or junior year.

  • 2013-2014 Recipient: Yolanda O'Neill
  • 2011-2012 Recipients: Kristie Fernberg, Caitlin Carlin, and Stephanie Krause

The Judith de Luce Prize:
Awarded to a student for excellence in the study of Roman Culture and Literature. An award to a student in the Classics Department that honors Dr. de Luce's many years of service here at Miami. The prize is awarded every two years, whenever the CLS 402 capstone course (Age of Augustus) is offered.  A committee, consisting of the instructor for the course, the Department Chair, and all tenured members of the Classics Department, makes a recommendation to the Dean, to select the student project that best fits the following criteria: excellence in scholarship, use of interdisciplinary methods, and a topic relating to marginal figures in the classical world

  • 2011-2012 Recipient: Jonathan Wheeler
  • 2010-2011 Recipient: Christopher Dobbs

The Marilyn Wade-Duff Scholarship:
Awarded to an outstanding student for demonstrating academic merit in the Study of Latin. The Marilyn Wade-Duff Scholarship shall be awarded to one undergraduate student who demonstrates academic merit in the study of Latin. Preference shall be given to undergraduates with a declared major or minor in Latin to enable themselves to teach Latin in the middle or secondary school level, or who are taking a course in Latin as part of their preparation to teach English at the middle or secondary school level.

  • 2010-2011 Recipient: Stephanie Krause

American Philological Association Award
An awad that honors outstanding achievement to students designated by the department'

  • 2012-2013 Recipient: Tyler Gau

Classical Association of the Middle West and South Award
An award given for outstanding accomplishment in Classical Studies.

  • 2012-2013 Recipient: Kristie Fernberg