Religion department bestows annual student awards

Medallion embossed with a trophy cupOn May 3, the Department of Comparative Religion held its annual awards ceremony to honor selected undergraduates for their academics or service to the department. The ceremony was held at the end of a 2-hour student symposium featuring the capstone research projects of students in REL 430, "Early Christian Literature and Religion."

The department's awards for academic excellence or department service (named for former faculty members) were bestowed on the following students:

Alan Miller Award for Outstanding Student Service to the Department:
Kelsi Sievering

Roy Bowen Ward Award for Excellence in Biblical Studies:
Samantha Gauer

Newell S. Booth, Jr. Award for Excellence in Comparative Religion:
Mary Hayes

Harold O. Forshey Award for Overall Academic Achievement:
Owen Walsh

During the awards ceremony, the department also inducted new members of Theta Alpha Kappa, the national honors society for students in religious studies, and distributed honor cords to graduating members of TAK. Graduating TAK senior Sam Bachmann received TAK's Undergraduate Achievement Award.