Graduate Students

Padia HakutangwiPaida Hakutangwi

Paida Hakutangwi, I was born in Harare, Zimbabwe. I obtained a Bachelor of Arts (Health Sciences and Social Services) specializing in Community and Health Psychology, an Honors Bachelor of Arts specializing is Social Behavior Studies in HIV/AIDs from the University of South Africa and a Master of Science in Psychology from the Open University in the United Kingdom. My current interests are mainly in understanding African feminism from a historical perspective. My historical period of interest is the 20th century. I am a regular long distance runner who loves exploring nature with my two dogs.

Haley KnuthHaley Knuth

Haley Knuth is a first-year graduate student with the History Department. After graduating from Wright State University in Dayton with a BFA and a Minor in German in 2018, she has decided to pursue an education in Public History, with Colonial America, specifically the role of women and of German immigrants, as an area of focus. A Cincinnati native, Haley developed her love of museums from an early age at the Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal, as well as the Cincinnati Art Museum, and she hopes to work at a museum after graduation. 

Luke-Marara.jpgLuke Marara

My name is Luke Marara and I was born and raised in Macheke, Zimbabwe. I obtained a Bachelor of Arts Honors Degree in History with minors in German and Linguistics from the University of Zimbabwe in 2015. For my graduate research, I am interested in conducting historical research on educational disparities from the onset of colonialism (1890) to the present, particularly focusing on gender and rural-urban disparities in the educational sector. Another potential area of interest is commercial sex work and illegal trade at Zimbabwe-Mozambique border. During my spare time, I enjoy watching mars and moon landings, hunting, and playing social soccer with my friends.

Sam PurkissSam Purkiss

My name is Sam Purkiss and I am a first-year master's student! I was born and raised in Loveland, Ohio and I attended Miami University where I graduated in 2020 with a BA in History and Film Studies. My current research interests lie in the history of American theatre (especially musicals) and gender studies. In my free time, I enjoy watching movies, playing video games with friends, and playing Dungeons & Dragons

Harley WallsHarley Walls

I was born and raised in New Castle, Indiana. In Spring of 2020 I earned a BA in History with minors in Spanish and Writing from Anderson University in Anderson, Indiana. For my graduate research, I am interested in American History in the 1960s and 1970s, particularly the Vietnam War and the Peace Movement. Some of my favorite subtopics include college protests in the Midwest, the conflict in the Ia Drang Valley, as well as the everyday lives of GIs in Vietnam. When I'm not working, I enjoy traveling with my parents and two younger brothers, spending time with my cats Anakin and Obi-Wan, jamming to Taylor Swift, and watching documentaries or 80s rom-coms.