CPAC Meeting Minutes April 2017

Prepared by: Pamela Hogeback
April 13, 2017

In Attendance: Karen Moss - Chair, Debbie Smith - Vice Chair, Pamela Hogeback – Secretary, Shannon Schweitzer, Penny Mannix, Vanessa Gordon, Amy Corrington, Heather Ruhe, Elizabeth Maurer and Melissa Allen. Lisa Raatz and Heather Bechtol-ex-officio
Absent: Jason Puckett, Cathy Edwards


“It’s On Us” workshop April 19th and 20th.  Drop in to learn about the various resources on campus, how to best utilize them, and how to provide a trauma-informed response to a survivor. Women Helping Women, the Office of Student Wellness and a Title IX representative will be presenting and available to answer questions.  Understanding Your Role in Sexual and Interpersonal Violence at Miami.

“Risky Drinking” Students, faculty, staff and community members are invited to community-wide screenings of the HBO documentary “Risky Drinking” and to a forum on high-risk alcohol consumption April 25-27, 2017. There will be two screenings Tuesday, April 25, from 4:40-6:30 p.m. in the Wilks Theater, Armstrong Student Center and again on Wednesday, April 26 from 6-8 p.m. at Talawanda High School. The panel for the Thursday, April 27 in 152 Shideler hall from 3:30-5:45 p.m. This will include Miami Provost Phyllis Callahan along with Rebecca Baudry Young, director of student wellness, Ritch Hall, psychologist and coordinator of substance abuse services, Aaron Luebbe, associate professor of psychology; and Rose Marie Ward, professor of kinesiology and health. Dean of Students Mike Curme will moderate. All faculty and staff are encouraged to attend.

President Crawford would like to have met with us during the semester, but was unable to attend any of our meetings due to time and other obligations. He will do his best to meet with us this fall.

HR Update

Heather Bechtol announced the changes of the new HR website. They are hoping it will be live by the end of the semester. The new website is to be more user friendly than the current website. It should not require more than three clicks to find what you are looking for.  Heather walked us through the new HR website and showed us several new additions, such as New Hires toolkit for employee and managers. There is also a new video “Why Miami” which we hope will entice people to apply for open positions. 

Heather also brought to our attention the new change regarding direct deposit. You must be on campus using a campus computer to make any changes in your direct deposit. This is effective April 11, 2017.

Heather also handed out a preventive care list from Sherry Schilling. This list includes all service that are consider “Preventive care” under our health insurance. This preventive care can take place anytime within the calendar year.

Committee Reports

  • None

Other Business

The following was brought to our attention by Karen Moss.  Due to Shannon Schweitzer being at the end of her term, we would need to change the by-laws as Shannon is completing her third year of the term.  We will need to change the following section of our by-laws so that in the future we may consider some who may be at the end of their third year who’s waiting to be the Vice-Chair.  There was a motion on the floor to move this to discussion our meeting in June after the SATSS conference.  Everyone approved this motion.

Article IV. Officers and Members Responsibilities

Section IV.01 CPAC officers shall consist of Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary. The Vice Chair shall be elected by the committee each year, and will be chosen from among the second year members. The Vice Chair will then automatically become the Chair in his/her third year, with a vote of confidence from the committee. The outgoing Chair will serve as a nonvoting exofficio member for one year after his/her regular term. The Secretary shall be elected by the committee each year.

Officer Election/New Members: We need to elect new officers for the 2017-2018 year, Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary. Karen Moss would like to remain as Chair since she has not completed a full term in the position as Chair due to Katie Pirigyi stepping down.  Shannon Schweitzer, Melissa Allen, Elizabeth Maurer and Debbie Smith have received nominations for Vice-Chair.  Melissa Allen, Heather Ruhe and Pamela Hogeback have been nominated for Secretary.  The vote was held by paper ballot and Lisa Raatz, ex-officio confirmed the ballots and the following have been appointed. Vice-Chair is Shannon Schweitzer and Pamela Hogeback was appointed as Secretary.

The following candidates have been voted on by the committee: Penny Mannix, Shannon Schweitzer and Amy Corrington have been recommended to the Office of the President for consideration for the term ending in 2020. We went over the other nominations and feel that we may spark some interest at the SATSS conference on May 25, 2017.  We will wait to nominate the other two positions at the June meeting.  Karen will reach out to Jason Puckett to see if his schedule might change or if he would like to resign his position on CPAC.

SATSS Summer Conference: Karen would like to schedule a work session regarding the SATSS conference.  She would like to do it on Thursday, April 27, 2017.

Next Meeting

Meeting adjourned – Next Meeting –May 18, 2017 @ 8:30 am 201 Alumni Hall.