Council on Diversity and Inclusion

The functions of the Council on Diversity and Inclusion (CODI) are to advise the President and the Provost on matters of diversity and to engage in and facilitate long-range planning to accomplish the following:
  • Build an intellectual community that recognizes that diverse experiences create a rich educational experience for all students
  • Foster an inclusive campus climate
  • Foster the development of diversity-related competencies among faculty, staff, and students
  • Assess and identify trends, progress, and problems pertaining to campus diversity and climate
  • Facilitate University-wide dialogue to promote understanding and constructive exchange of views on matters of diversity

The Council reports regularly to University Senate.


Ron Scott, Co-Chair
Associate Vice President for Institutional Diversity

Jane Goettsch, Co-Chair
Director, Women's Center

Jennifer Patrick-Gaines, University Senate Liaison
Clinical Professor, Media, Journalism, and Film

Administrative Staff (Continuing Terms)

Associate VP for Institutional Diversity
Ron Scott

Assistant Provost, Global Initiatives (or designee)
Tarah Trueblood

Director, Office of Diversity Affairs (or designee)
Kelley Kimple

Director, Office of Equity and Equal Opportunity (or designee)
Tami Moore

Director, Women's Center (or designee)
Jane Goettsch

Regional Director & Deputy Title IX Coordinator for Regionals Students
Bennyce Hamilton

Director, Office of Student Disability Services
J. Andrew Zeisler

Faculty and Staff

Members Serving 3-Year Terms
Representative Division/Organization Term Ends
Michael Vanni
College of Arts and Science (CAS) 2020
James Bielo
Thomas Garcia
College of Creative Arts (CCA) 2020
Carolyn Slotten
Family Science and Social Work
College of Education, Health, and Society (EHS) 2020
Amy Yousefi
Chemical, Paper, and Biomedical Engineering
College of Engineering and Computing (CEC) 2020
Linh Dich
Languages, Literatures, and Writing
College of Liberal Arts and Applied Science (CLAAS) 2019
Susan Miller
Education and Society
Cody Powell
Physical Facilities
Finance and Business Services (FBS) 2020
Gerald Granderson
Farmer School of Business (FSB) 2021
Laura Desmond
Classified Personnel Advisory Committee (CPAC) 2018
Leslie Haxby McNeill
Unclassified Personnel Advisory Committee (UPAC) 2019
Sarah Thacker
Languages, Literatures, and Writing
At-Large 2019
Todd Edwards
Education and Society


Undergraduate Students


ASG Diversity of Affairs Council Member
Courtney Rose

Graduate Students

Joshua Jones

Graduate Students of Color Association Member
Courtney Allen