Farmer School Establishes Young Professionals Advisory Council

May 2012

The Young Professionals Advisory Council (YPAC) held its inaugural meeting April 15-16. This group will serve as a resource for Farmer School students, faculty and staff, assisting with high school recruitment, mentorship and corporate partnerships.

YPAC is currently comprised of 27 members, each an up-and-coming business and community leader. These Farmer School alumni were selected by faculty and staff to serve two year terms. Michelle Rakiec and Steve Porter of AdValum Consulting serve as co-chairs.

"We are privileged to have the support of this group of talented and enthusiastic alumni," said Farmer School Dean Roger L. Jenkins, the Mitchell P. Rales Chair in Business Leadership. "YPAC will be instrumental in attracting top high school graduates, mentoring students, and helping to shape our curriculum."

The YPAC attendees participated in round table discussions with students, gave classroom presentations, and met with mentees. Farmer School faculty who led YPAC sessions were Dr. Brett Smith, Director of the Institute for Entrepreneurship and the Center for Social Entrepreneurship; Dr. Lisa Ellram, James Evans Rees Distinguished Professor of Distribution; Dr. Gilliam Oakenfull, Associate Professor of Marketing; and Dr. Mike Curme, Associate Dean of the Farmer School.

Based on these discussions, YPAC will begin its work by supporting high school recruitment efforts, guiding through mentorship, and furthering experiential learning programming.