News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Miami Bicentennial Writers Festival, Nov. 12-13


The Miami University Bicentennial Writers Festival, Nov. 12-13, features 16 poets, short story writers, novelists and creative nonfiction writers — all alumni of Miami’s creative writing program — in a series of roundtable discussions and readings. Panel discussions will be held at 4 p.m. each day at Leonard Theatre in Peabody Hall, followed by readings.

Writers include Christopher Coake (MA ’98, fiction), author of We’re in Trouble, winner of the 2006 PEN/Robert Bingham award for first fiction; poet Eugene Gloria (MA ’90, poetry), whose books include Hoodlum Birds; Margaret Peterson Haddix (BA ’86), best-selling children’s and young adult author, whose most recent book is Sent; and Bret Anthony Johnston (MA ‘98, fiction), author of Corpus Christi and director of creative writing at Harvard University. The festival is free and open to the public.

Writers will share how studying creative writing at Miami helped them build their publishing careers. The festival is sponsored by the department of English and organized by Eric Goodman, professor of English and director of creative writing. For more information contact Goodman at

A full schedule of events is available online.

Events, all at Leonard Theater, Peabody Hall, include:
Thursday, Nov. 12

  • 4 p.m.; Panel discussion: Making a Writer’s Career: Paths Taken and Not Taken Since Miami;
  • 4:45 p.m.; Reading, with writers Daniel Jones (MA ’05); Sara Kaplan (MA ’04, poetry); Hugh Sheehy (BA ’02, fiction/poetry); and Erica Bernheim (BA ’97, poetry).
  • 7:30 p.m.; Reading, with writers Jamey Dunham (BA ’96, poetry/prose poems);
    Keith Banner (MA ’93, fiction); Ellen Elder (MA’02, poetry/creative nonfiction
); and Chris Coake (MA ’98, fiction).

Friday, Nov. 13
  • 4 p.m.; Panel discussion: Publishing That First Book
  • 4:45 p.m.; Reading, with writers Scott Berg (MA ’95, fiction/creative nonfiction); Dorothy Goepel (MA ’04, fiction/creative nonfiction); Brian Nelson (BA ’94, creative nonfiction) and Renee Wells (MA ’02, poetry).
  • 7 p.m.; Reading, with writers Bret Johnston (MA ’98, fiction); Eugene Gloria (MA ’90, poetry); Jordan McMullin (MA ’03, fiction
) and Margaret Peterson Haddix (BA ’86).


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement