News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Performing Arts Series presents "Freedom & Joy"


The Miami University Bicentennial Performing Arts Series and the department of music present “Freedom & Joy: Celebrating the 20th Anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall” at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 1, in Hall Auditorium.

The concert features the Miami University Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Ricardo Averbach, with soloist William Sauerland, countertenor (Miami ’05). President David Hodge will narrate Aaron Copland’s “Lincoln Portrait.”

“The fall of the Berlin Wall in November 1989 remains a symbol of the end of the Cold War...and, music played an important role during the celebrations of the fall of the Berlin wall,” said Averbach.

Averbach explained that during the performance of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9, conducted by Leonard Bernstein, the word ‘Joy’ (Freude) was substituted during the “Ode to Joy” by the word ‘Freedom’ (Freiheit) in the text sung.

Along with “Ode to Joy” and Copland’s “Lincoln Portrait,” the program includes two arias by Handel; Lieutenant Kijé Suite, Op. 60 by Prokofiev; “Tahiti Trot” by Shostakovich; and “Ragam Ranjani” by Roger Davis, associate professor of music.

The concert is sponsored by the Havighurst Center for Russian & Post-Soviet Studies, with additional funding from the Ohio Arts Council.

Tickets are $14 for adults, $13 for senior citizens and $7 for students and youth. For tickets or more information, go to or call the box office at 529-3200.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement