News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Political science department honors students


Miami University's political science department held its annual recognition ceremony for outstanding juniors and seniors April 15. More than 70 students received awards.

Seniors who have excelled in scholarship and leadership were awarded the Howard White award. The recipients are: Hannah Armanini, Brittany Barrett, Matthew Berger, Brian Bergman, Jeffrey Bieszczak, Daniel Bower, Megan Brooks, Casey Brown, Alyson Budd, Megan Casey, Anderson Chang, Lane Clegg, Benjamin Cohen, Christopher Cooper, Kara Dailey, Craig Dangel, Meredith Decker, Matthew DiMeglio, Jacob Forrest, Christopher Gable, Jacquelyn Guy, Alexis Hartman, Brooke Hathaway, Jonah Hein, Matthew Hoffman, Cameron Huckabee, Sean Jacobson, Brittany Johnson, Kelly Kefauver, Christopher Kelleher, Paula Koch, Dale Kretz, Jason Kulig, Jono Kupferberg, Luke MacDougall, Diogo Metz, Stephanie Petropoulos, Morgan Riedl, Brett Schneider, Marissa Sims, William Tarrant, Brett Trutko, William Van Dolsen, Caitlin Varley, Jenna Ward and Roger Young.

Junior recognition awards were given to juniors who displayed academic excellence. The recipients are: Stephanie Eson, Heath Ingram, Iris Jin, Stephen Kostyo, Rachel Lusk, Sarah Mayher, Cordelia Moore, Cristina Rue, Sarah Schill, Christina Schoeler, Jack Simon, Patrick Sowell, Catherine Sturik and Mark Thompson.

The Irma H. Karmol Memorial Scholarship went to Mayher. Lusk received the Gary L. Best Memorial Award. The Sara Glosik Memorial Scholarship went to Jin.

The Atlee Pomerene Prize was awarded to Ingram. Ingram was also recognized for receiving a Seasongood Fellowship.

The Alan and Sondra Engel Prize is awarded for outstanding promise in the field of law and public affairs. Lusk was the junior recipient, and Ward was the senior recipient.

Bethany Bowyer was recognized for winning a New York City Urban Fellowship.

The 2010 undergraduate summer scholars were also recognized. They were Kirsten Rody with Laura Neack, professor of political science, as a mentor, and Christian Robertson II with Warren Mason, professor emeritus of political science, as a mentor.

The 2010 departmental honors recipients were Cohen, Kelleher, Koch, Metz and Nicholas Sutter.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement