News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Distinguished Scholar Award recipients announced


Distinguished Scholar Awards for 2010-2011 have been presented to professors Sheila Croucher, political science and American studies, and Ann Hagerman, chemistry and biochemistry, in recognition of a substantial and continuing record of research or creative activity. Xiaowen Huang, associate professor of management, received the Distinguished Scholar Award for a junior faculty member who has demonstrated great potential as a scholar or an artist. 

The scholars, named by the committee on faculty research (CFR) and the office for the advancement of research and scholarship (OARS), receive a $2,000 grant for the pursuit of further research or creative endeavor.

Croucher, the Paul Rejai Professor of Political Science (2007-2012), is a “cutting edge interdisciplinary scholar,” according to her nominators, whose work focuses on issues of globalization, migration, transnational identity and belonging. Her research examines how globalization has challenged traditional notions of citizenship and national identity, “creating mixed allegiances and new conceptions of belonging that transcend established political boundaries.” She was awarded a Ford Foundation Fellowship in 2007 and a Fulbright Visiting Chair of North American Politics and Society at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada, in 2009.

Along with numerous journal articles and book chapters, Croucher is author of three books, The Other Side of the Fence: American Migrants in Mexico (2009); Globalization and Belonging: Identity Politics in a Changing World (2003); and Imagining Miami, Ethnic Politics in a Postmodern World (1997), and is co-author of Blacks and the Quest for Economic Equality: The Political Economy of Employment in Southern Communities in the United States (2009). She is currently working on another book project, “Globalization and the American Nation.” She was the recipient of the College of Arts and Science Distinguished Educator Award in 2003 and the ASG Outstanding Teacher Award in 1998. She joined the Miami faculty in 1993.

Hagerman is a nationally and internationally recognized scholar in the field of tannin chemistry. She has conducted pioneering research on the isolation, structural characterization and metabolism of tannins, a natural product of plants consumed by humans (from fruits, chocolate, tea and wine) and herbivorous animals and insects. Her paper “High Molecular Weight Plant Polyphenolics (Tannins) as Biological Antioxidants” was recognized as one of the most highly cited papers in the field by Thomson Scientific Essential Science Indicators. The impact of her work has been demonstrated by the number of times her papers have been cited — nearly 5,000, with an average of about 50 citations per item.

Her research has been continuously funded by external grants totaling over $1.25 million, from a wide range of organizations including the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the U.S Department of Agriculture, the Cancer Research Foundation of America and Lipton Tea Company, among others.
Hagerman received the 2010 Scientific Achievement Award from Groupe Polyphenols, the first non-European to receive the award, in recognition for her work on tannins and their effects. She was also recognized as “Researcher of the Year” by the Miami University Chapter of Sigma Xi in 1997. She joined Miami in 1982.

Huang has distinguished herself as an exceptional researcher and “rising star” in the field of supply chain and operations management, her nominators wrote. Her research examines different ways technology affects strategic supply chain and operations management decisions and investigates how companies can effectively deploy their supply chains, technology and operations strategies to achieve competitive advantage. She is a co-author of the first empirical research handbook in the operations management field, Handbook of Metrics for Research in Operations Management: Multi-item Measurement Scales and Objective Items (2008).

Her journal publications have received several awards including the 2010 Best Paper Award in the International Journal of Operations & Production Management for "The Effect of Quality Management on Mass Customization Capability;" the 2010 Best Paper Finalist Award prize from the Journal of Operations Management for “The Effect of an Ambidextrous Supply Chain Strategy on Combinative Competitive Capabilities and Business Performance;" and the 2008 Harold E. Fearon Best Paper Award from the Journal of Supply Chain Management for “Interpersonal Trust Formation During the Supplier Selection Process: The Role of the Communication Channel.”

She received the 2010 Farmer School of Business Richard Smucker Junior Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence and the 2010 James Robeson Junior Faculty Award for Research Excellence — the first in the Farmer School to win both awards, let alone both awards in the same year. She joined the Miami faculty in 2004.
The Deadline for nominations for the 2011-2012 Distinguished Scholar Awards is Oct. 31.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement