News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Microbiology students earn awards


Left to Right – Samantha Key, Nathan Watrous, Michael Zatt, Zach Troyer, Megan Mackanos, Dr. John Glass, Rachel Pritchard, Mark Noviski, Christopher Sedlacek, Paul Nestor
The department of microbiology presented awards and scholarships to several undergraduate and graduate students during the April 11 Orton K. Stark Lecture.

The Orton K. Stark (OKS) Award, named for the founding chair of the microbiology department, is presented to students who have excelled in scholarship and leadership. Senior Mark Noviski was this year’s recipient.

The Outstanding Sophomore OKS Awards went to Samantha Key, Paul Nestor, James Robertson and Zach Troyer. The Outstanding Junior OKS Awards went to Megan Mackanos, Nicholas Parisey, Abigail Tennant and Lindsay Tirrell.

The OKS Graduate Student Award was given to Rachel Pritchard and Christopher Sedlacek. Pritchard and Sedlacek are studying in the laboratories of Mitchel Balish and Anette Bollmann, respectively.

The Lawrence Day Award recognizes juniors on academic merit. This year’s recipient was Samuel Illig.

The Dr. and Mrs. J.K. Bhattacharjee Award recipients were Madina Larina and Michael Zatt.

The Oren E. Taft Scholarship is presented to microbiology majors who demonstrate academic merit and plan to attend medical school. This year’s recipient was Nathan Watrous.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement