News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Regional Campus Implementation Committee announced


Miami University Provost Bobby Gempesaw announced that Cathy Bishop-Clark, chair of computer information technology, and Jim Oris, associate provost and Graduate Dean, will co-chair the Regional Campus Implementation Committee.

Members of the committee also include: Patrick Dowling, chair of mathematics; Andrew Au, art; Katherine Hieber, nursing; Kelli Johnson, English; and Chamina Smith, business technology.

The primary tasks for the implementation committee are (1) to review the hiring procedures for regional campus faculty that will serve the program needs of the new division; (2) to lead the process of identifying a distinct school name for the new academic division; and (3) to coordinate, as the ad hoc committee, the transfer of existing programs and departments located on the regional campuses to the new academic division.

On April 27, Miami's board of trustees approved Resolution R2012-29 establishing a new academic division on the regional campuses. The new academic division will be granted all the authority, rights and responsibilities consistent with other academic divisions, including the authority to recommend the hiring of faculty and to develop new degrees and programs in response to the needs of the region.

The resolution authorized the president and provost to form an implementation committee that will plan for the establishment of the new academic division; recommend a distinct school name in consultation with students, faculty, staff and external stakeholders; and coordinate with University Senate in transferring existing programs and departments located on the regional campuses to the new academic division.

The resolution of the board of trustees directs that programs and departments currently located on the regional campuses will be transferred to the new division. The transfer will follow the process outlined in University Senate Resolution 08-09, Guide for the Consolidation, Partition, Transfer, or Elimination of Academic Divisions, Departments, or Programs.

Four departments located on the regional campuses, which are currently part of Oxford-based divisions, are designated to be transferred to the new division. These are (1) nursing, (2) engineering technology, (3) computer and information technology, and (4) business technology.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement