News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Symphony Orchestra Dec. 5: "Journey Into the New World"


The Miami University Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Ricardo Averbach, will perform a free concert at 8 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 5, in Hall Auditorium.

The program, "A Journey Into the New World," will feature Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World” , and “Mars” from “The Planets” by Gustav Holst.

The orchestra will also perform "Spring Festival Overture" by Li Huanzhi; and guitarist Thomas Garcia, associate professor of ethnomusicology and Latin American studies will join the orchestra for “Um a Zero,” by contemporary Brazilian composer Pixinguinha.

To read the program notes, open the "MUSO Dec. 5 Program.pdf" below.

Related Media

other media MUSO Dec. 5 Program.pdf


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement