News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Journalism program honors students


Miami University students were honored with awards and scholarships for their academic work in journalism.

The Memorial Tournament Journalism Scholarship is awarded to upcoming seniors for their work in print or broadcast journalism in honor of Jack Nicklaus' golf tournament held every year in Dublin, Ohio. Amanda Schumaker, junior journalism and history double major, received this award. Schumaker was also awarded the Timothy J. Rogers Scholarship, given to one student for academic success and involvement in one or more Miami student-run media organizations.

The Emily J. Cordes Award for Academic Merit was awarded to Emily Crane, sophomore journalism and anthropology double major, and Jen Smola, junior journalism and political science double major.

The Lawler-Galeese Scholarship is awarded to two students who demonstrate interest and skill in print journalism. This year’s honors went to Kelsie Walker, junior journalism and interactive media studies double major; and Victoria Slater, sophomore journalism and English creative writing double major.

The Michael Kelly Prize is awarded to a journalism student who exhibits exemplary professionalism and ethical decision-making in journalism. John Rieger, senior journalism and political science double major, was this year’s recipient.

The Reid-Heckler Gambrell Scholarship, based on academic merit, is awarded to students who are interning in developing nations or post-war/fledgling democracies. Ashley VanBuskirk, junior journalism and international studies double major; Josh North, junior journalism and history double major; and Slater received scholarships.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement