News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Miami students honored at regional festival


Miami University's theatre department participated in the regional festival of the Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival in Indianapolis in January.

The Miami group staged productions of "Good Business" and "The Real Inspector Hound" and received excellent responses.

Four student actors entered the regional design competition: Marion DiFalco, Rena Hopkins, Megan Rhoads and Jennifer Zimmerman.

Hopkins' design for "The Tempest" won first place in the costume design category.

Student Craig Krstolic and alumnus William Fishburn entered projects in the national design competition. Fishburn's design for "Machinal" received honorable mention in the lighting design category.

Plays by two students were given readings. "Comfortable Breakfasts" by Joe Barnett won the inaugural 10-minute play competition. "Two Thieves in a Trap" by Tom Gannon was winner of the one-act play competition. Like Gannon's script of "Good Business" this year, "Two Thieves" is invited to be performed at next year's festival and will be published by Dramatist's Play Service.

In addition, 10 student actors from Miami were selected to participate in the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition. They were Drew Bonadio, Andrew Burkhart, Bill Ernst, Claire Fitzpatrick, Lindsay Hollister, Colleen Kassner, Pat Kearns, Carrie Kirchgessner, Danielle Owen, Shalene Shimer and their partners. Owen and her partner Steve Frech reached the final round of 16.

The ACTF national selection committee is considering "The Real Inspector Hound" for performance at the national festival to be held at the Kennedy Center April 19-26. The final invitations will be made in March following the last of the regional festivals.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement