News Release

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Miami Student is a Truman Scholar


OXFORD, Ohio - Sarah Stewart, a junior with a chemistry major and political science minor at Miami University, has been chosen to receive a prestigious Harry S. Truman Scholarship.

Only 75-80 students nationwide receive the $30,000 scholarships, which include $27,000 for graduate study.

The Truman Scholarship Foundation, which is the official federal memorial to the president, recognizes scholarship winners as future "change agents" with the "passion, intellect and leadership potential that in time should enable them to improve the ways that public entities...serve the public good."

Stewart, of 1220 N. Olde Farm Rd., East Peoria, Ill., intends to attend a joint degree program in medicine and international public health policy with plans to work for public policies that improve health care in developing countries.

Steven de Lue, associate dean of the College of Arts and Science, noted that Stewart has clear public service goals and an impressive record of leadership and academic achievement.

Stewart's community service includes three years with Cincinnati Big Brothers Big Sisters, being a companion to senior citizens, raising money for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and volunteering at the Home for the Dying in Haiti. She has also raised money in Oxford and in Illinois for the Home for the Dying and schools and hospitals in Haiti.

Stewart and psychology major Emilee Thompson were among 200 nationwide finalists named in February. Miami was the only state-assisted Ohio university with two finalists and the only state-assisted Ohio institution to produce a Truman Scholar.

The Truman Foundation tries to name one scholar annually from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the combined islands of American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands. However, high standards do not guarantee it.

Last year, there were six states without Truman Scholars.


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement