The Miami Report

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Senate to explore establishment of ombuds office

University Senate April 17 approved a resolution to establish an ad hoc committee to investigate the various forms of ombuds offices in other universities in order to make a recommendation concerning establishing such an office at Miami. Also approved were revisions to the promotion and tenure guidelines for dossier preparation and a resolution to establish an ad hoc committee to study the problem of class availability for students.

William McKenna, executive committee chair, reported on Senate’s accomplishments during the past year and on the April trustee meeting.

Senate also approved committee appointments for the next academic year and elected two new members of the executive committee: Kathleen Knight Abowitz and Kathleen Burgoon, chair-elect. Other members of the executive committee for 2000-2001 are William Snavely, chair; Ronald Crutcher, provost; Jeff Griffiths, ASG president, and Karen Shaffer, university secretary.

Date Published: 04/20/2000
Volume: 19   Number: 33


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement