The Miami Report

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Shoupp Awards announced

Three projects have been recommended for funding with Shoupp Awards by the Miami University Research Advisory Council (MURAC).

The faculty members and their projects are:

Michael Bailey-Van Kuren (manufacturing engineering), "Automated Demanufacturing Work Cell."

Melanie L. Hatch (systems analysis), "Logistics Engineering at Eli Lilly."

Neil D. Danielson (chemistry and biochemistry), "A New Pre-Column Gas Chromatograph Inlet System for Multi-bore Capillary Columns."

The Shoupp Awards, established to honor the service of the late William E. Shoupp as a charter member and chair of MURAC, supports initial and exploratory activities involving university faculty with industry.

It is anticipated that this "seed money" will lead to external funding for a research project, either from industry or government, according to Douglas Taylor, acting associate provost for scholarship and teaching (OAST).

The current awards were made possible through Research Challenge funding from the Ohio Board of Regents.

MURAC, composed of representatives from American industry, includes Manfred Biermann, Cognis Corp.; T. Jan Cerveny, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory; Henry Cialone, Battelle Memorial Institute; Peter B. Davis, Development Associates; Sharon Mitchell, Procter & Gamble; Philip R. Reid, Eli Lilly; Jeffrey H. Sherman, Avista Resources; William Steenken, GE Aircraft Engines; Brinley D. Varchol, Fluor Daniel Fernald; Ronald A. Weeks, Cincom Systems.

Date Published: 05/18/2000
Volume: 19   Number: 36


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement