The Miami Report

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Alumni awards recognize service to Miami and society

Each year at Homecoming the alumni association recognizes graduates, faculty, staff and friends of the university who have made significant contributions to the association or to society. Saturday evening these individuals will be honored.

Six faculty members will be thanked for their involvement in Reunion College, a lecture component of last summer’s Reunion Weekend. Each professor, identified as an outstanding classroom instructor, presented a mini-lecture to alumni. The individuals are: Robert Applebaum (Scripps Gerontology Center), Gail Della-Piana (architecture and interior design, interdisciplinary studies and black world studies), Annie Finch (English/creative writing), Jay Kimiecik (physical education, health and sport studies), W. Rocky Newman (management) and Ben Voth (communication).

Receiving the Kenneth Gambee Award saluting contributions by young alumni are Peter Olsen ’94 and Amy Cartwright Rile ’91.

Olsen has represented Miami in numerous capacities in the Buffalo, N.Y., area, serving as chapter founder and president and as a coordinator for the area’s Alumni Admission Recruitment Network. Additionally, he is a member of the Alumni Career Network and has served on his class reunion committee.

Rile is in her final year of service on the alumni association board of directors, where she has served as vice president of alumni services. She directed a significant association survey of young alumni and has served as president of the Cincinnati alumni chapter and as a sponsor in MUSF’s Externship program.

The A.K. Morris Award honors members of Miami’s faculty or staff who serve the alumni body above and beyond the call of their official duties. The recipient of the 2001 award is Joel Maturi, director of intercollegiate athletics. An avid supporter of all things Miami, Maturi consistently steps out beyond his role in athletics to promote Miami to alumni and friends around the country.

Named in honor of Miami’s first full-time alumni director, the John E. Dolibois Award is presented to those alumni who provide continuous and meritorious service to the association. Three alumni will receive the award this year: Gil Kessler ’62, Ed Ricker ’52 and Larry Young ’65.

Kessler is active with the Southern California alumni chapter. A former member and officer of the alumni board and current Alumni Ambassador, Kessler has given a lifetime of service to Miami.

Ricker has been an active member of the Southeast Michigan chapter board for many years, serving a term as president. During his tenure he led the chapter in many innovations, including the development and publication of a chapter newsletter.

A former president of the alumni board and the Black Alumni Coordinating Committee, Young has also served on class reunion committees and as a visiting speaker for campus-based alumni programs.

Two individuals will be presented Honorary Lifetime Membership, which acknowledges those who serve Miami and the association as loyally as alumni.

Karel Simbartl, senior director of central development programs, has been a staff member in university advancement since 1990. His knowledge of the history of the university is extensive, and he works tirelessly to promote the university in many venues.

Ekkehard Stiller, director of the Miami University Dolibois European Center, has for many years been an enthusiastic and invaluable supporter of the Luxembourg alumni chapter. His efforts to promote both the center and the university are typical of the finest tradition of Miami’s most loyal alumni.

Date Published: 10/25/2001
Volume: 21   Number: 13


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement