The Miami Report

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Alumni association awards to be presented during Homecoming weekend

Each year at Homecoming the Alumni Association recognizes graduates, faculty, staff and friends of the university who have made significant contributions to the association or to society. The awards will be presented Saturday evening at a dinner in Shriver Center.

Recognition will be given to five faculty members for their involvement in Reunion College, a part of Reunion Weekend. Each individual, identified as an outstanding classroom instructor, presented a mini-lecture to alumni. The faculty members are Michael Bailey-Van Kuren (manufacturing engineering), Michael Crowder (chemistry and biochemistry), Karen Dawisha (political science), Tammy Kernodle (music) and Tom Speh (marketing).

Receiving the Kenneth Gambee Award saluting contributions by young alumni is James Warden ’95. Warden is president of the Washington, D.C., alumni chapter and is a coordinator for the area’s Alumni Admission Recruitment Network. Additionally, he is a member of the College of Arts and Science Advisory Committee.

The Dave Roberts Service Award is presented to members of the faculty or staff who excel in their service to the division of university advancement. Joan Robinson and Mitzie Wallen will be honored with the 2002 award, recognizing their efforts as members of the housekeeping staff for Murstein Alumni Center and Climer Guest Lodge. Both represent the spirit of Dave Roberts, as they go out of their way to make alumni comfortable and to assist staff in many ways, always with a positive attitude reflecting the highest quality of service.

The A.K. Morris Award honors members of Miami’s faculty or staff who serve the alumni body above and beyond the call of their official duties. The recipient of the 2002 award is Susan Cross Lipnickey, associate dean, School of Education and Allied Professions, and interim chair, department of family studies and social work. Lipnickey has provided support to a variety of programs within the Alumni Association, including the Miami University Student Foundation’s Red Carpet Days and 20/20 – 10/10 bike races, Reunion Weekend, award committees and various alumni gatherings at athletic events.

Named in honor of Miami’s first alumni professional, the John E. Dolibois Award is presented to those alumni who provide continuous and meritorious service to the Alumni Association. This year Joan Vernotzy ’51, is recognized with this honor.

Vernotzy has served the Tampa Bay, Fla., area as chapter president for more than a decade and continues to support activities in that area. Additionally, she is a member of the Alumni Admission Recruitment Network and has served on her class reunion committee.

Vickie Johnson will be presented Honorary Lifetime Membership in the Alumni Association, which acknowledges those non-alumni who serve Miami and the association as loyally as graduates.

Johnson has been the behind-the-scenes secretary and organizer of activities in the Sarasota, Fla., chapter for many years. As she helps to plan activities and host alumni at annual events, most have no idea that she did not attend Miami.

Date Published: 10/10/2002
Volume: 22   Number: 11


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement