The Miami Report

News and Public Information Office
Glos Center
Miami University
Oxford, Ohio 45056
(513) 529-7592
(513) 529-1950 fax

Senior wins British Marshall Scholarship

Senior Jessica Hohman is one of 43 students nationwide named winner of a 2006 Marshall Scholarship for graduate study in England. Hohman, from Akron, is the only winner from Ohio.

Hohman is majoring in chemistry and history and has a minor in political science. “During my first year in England, I plan to enroll in a joint program with the London School of Economics and the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine to pursue my master of science in health policy, planning and financing,” she said. She also is interviewing for medical school, with an ultimate goal of becoming a primary care physician in an urban clinic while working on universal health care reform.

“Jessica is astonishingly accomplished,” says Timothy Melley (English), chair of Miami's scholarship committee. “Her academic record alone would be the envy of many graduate students and professionals, but what makes Jessica even more special is her exceptional commitment to improving the lives of others.”

Hohman entered Miami in 2002 as a Harrison Scholar, National Merit Finalist and Bausch & Lomb Science Award winner. At Miami, she has received honors including the Provost's Academic Achievement Award, Procter and Gamble Chemistry Award, Xerox Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Humanities, and Joseph A. Culler Prize in Physics. She worked as an undergraduate summer scholar on fiscal responsibility for Medicaid and studied at Oxford University in England to explore health care systems. Beyond academics, Hohman has volunteered in hospital settings and held internships with organizations including the Free Health Clinic in Cleveland and Cleveland's Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital.

“Through her many course and out-of-course learning experiences, Jessica has developed into a remarkably mature, socially conscious and compassionate global citizen,” wrote Carolyn Haynes, director of Miami's honors and scholars program, in recommending Hohman for the award.

In addition to Haynes and Melley, Hohman was mentored by her longtime adviser Doug Shumavon (political science); Sara Speh, assistant to the dean, College of Arts and Science; and other faculty including Mary Frederickson (history), Linda Marchant (anthropology), Denise McCoskey (classics), Richard Momeyer (philosophy) and Terry Perlin (interdisciplinary studies).

The Marshall Scholarship, named in honor of U.S. Secretary of State George C. Marshall, was established in 1953. The most recent previous Miami recipient was in 2000.

Date Published: 12/08/2005
Volume: 25   Number: 18


© 2012 | Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809 | Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement