Faculty Awards

The Office of Community Engagement and Service is proud to recognize the efforts of faculty members. These individuals collaborate to create engaging experiences for Miami University students that positively impact local communities.

Kathy McMahon-Klosterman honored for work in special education

Kathy McMahon-Klosterman, professor emerita of educational psychology, received the Distinguished Service Award by the Ohio Association of County Boards of Developmental Disabilities. McMahon-Klosterman is currently serving as president of the Butler County Board of Developmental Disabilities. Mcmahon-Klosterman returned to Miami during the Fall of 2014 semester as a visiting faculty member. She served Miami as an Eminent Faculty Scholar for Community Engagement and Service, and she is affiliated with women's studies, disability studies and interdisciplinary studies.

Kathy McMahon-Klosterman

Nahiteeheeyoni Faculty Service-Learning Award

The Nahiteeheeyoni Award is an annual award that recognizes a faculty member engaged in Service-Learning. Nahiteeheeyoni is the Myaami word for "work done well, from the heart." The recipient of the award is selected by the SL Designation Committee, based on excellence in engaged teaching and significant community impact.


  • 2013: C. Lee Harrington, Sociology & Gerontology
  • 2012: Tom Kopp, Teacher Education
  • 2011: Kathy McMahon-Klosterman, Educational Psychology
  • 2010: Eva Rodriguez Gonzalez, Spanish
  • 2009: Gail Della-Piana, Architecture
  • 2009: Robert Vogel, Communication

Nahiteeheeyoni Award