History of Greek Life at Miami

For 175 years, fraternities and sororities at Miami University have contributed to campus tradition, success, and pride. This rich heritage benefits both fraternity and sorority members and the broader university community.

In 1833, the first fraternity to be established at Miami was Alpha Delta Phi, an organization that originated as a literary society at Hamilton College in Clinton, NY. With the formation of the Miami chapter, Alpha Delta Phi became the first fraternity to establish a chapter west of the Appalachian Mountains, a distinction of importance in those years before the rapid expansion of the western part of the United States. Following this, five social Greek-letter organizations were founded at the University: Beta Theta Pi (1839), Phi Delta Theta (1848), Sigma Chi (1855), Delta Zeta (1902), and Phi Kappa Tau (1906). The founding of these fraternal organizations has earned Miami University the nickname, "Mother of Fraternities."

Today, the University hosts over fifty fraternity and sorority chapters. Each chapter is committed to the Principles of the Greek Community: Scholarship & Learning, Service & Philanthropy, Leadership, Community, and Brotherhood & Sisterhood.

Approximately one third of the undergraduate student population are members of the fraternity and sorority community. Members are involved in all areas of the University, including events, programs, and student organizations.

Miami University Greek History Walking Tour

Take a look into Miami's history and how Fraternities and Sororities have helped shape the Miami we all love today!