Orientation Dates

Our team is eager to welcome you to campus for orientation, where you'll build on your connection to Miami and become more familiar with our university community and the resources and support that will help you meet your goals.  As a new student, you'll learn about your academic curriculum, meet with an advisor, and register for classes at orientation.  You'll also meet new friends, eat in campus dining facilities, stay overnight in a campus residence hall, receive your Miami ID, and much more.  Most first-year students attend one of our sixteen one-and-a-half day sessions throughout the month of June (see the Orientation Schedules link at left for more detailed program information); if you're unable to join us for one of the dates below, you'll attend August orientation just before the semester begins.  

Orientation registration opens in mid-March 2018 (exact date will be updated on this page before Jan 15, 2018), and can be accessed through the summer orientation registration page, or through the myMiami portal using your Miami student Unique ID and password.  If you need help logging in to myMiami, see myMiami Login Help.

Please note:

  • Orientation sessions fill up on a first-come, first-served basis, and do NOT have waiting lists, so new students should register early and be as flexible as possible with their availability.  
  • One common misperception is that students who attend later orientation sessions will have significant difficulty registering for classes.  In reality, seats in the most common first-year courses are released for each orientation session, so students who attend later sessions are not at a disadvantage.  Every student will leave orientation with a full schedule of classes that will help you on your way to timely degree completion. 
Session 1 Day 1:  Wednesday, May 30
  Day 2:  Thursday, May 31
Session 2 Day 1:  Thursday, May 31
  Day 2:  Friday, June 1
Session 3 Day 1:  Friday, June 1
  Day 2:  Saturday, June 2
Session 4 Day 1:  Monday, June 4
  Day 2:  Tuesday, June 5
Session 5 Day 1:  Tuesday, June 5
  Day 2:  Wednesday, June 6
Session 6 Day 1:  Wednesday, June 6
  Day 2:  Thursday, June 7
Session 7 Day 1:  Wednesday, June 13
  Day 2:  Thursday, June 14
Session 8 Day 1:  Thursday, June 14
  Day 2:  Friday, June 15
Session 9 Day 1:  Friday, June 15
  Day 2:  Saturday, June 16
Session 10 Day 1:  Tuesday, June 19
  Day 2:  Wednesday, June 20
Session 11 Day 1:  Wednesday, June 20
  Day 2:  Thursday, June 21
Session 12 Day 1:  Thursday, June 21
  Day 2:  Friday, June 22
Session 13 Day 1:  Friday, June 22
  Day 2:  Saturday, June 23
Session 14 Day 1:  Monday, June 25
  Day 2:  Tuesday, June 26
Session 15 Day 1:  Tuesday, June 26
  Day 2:  Wednesday, June 27
Session 16 Day 1:  Wednesday, June 27
  Day 2:  Thursday, June 28