Information Technology Governance

Governance provides direction, oversight, and continuity to Miami’s strategies for the provisioning and support of IT. One major function of governance is to focus on alignment: making sure IT Services’ activities support Miami’s mission. Through a collaborative process, the hundreds of requests IT receives for projects are each evaluated and, if approved, prioritized.

Information Technology Investments Council (ITIC)

Comprised of the vice presidents, this committee is the final authority in the governance process. Any disputes in planning and decision-making are escalated to the ITIC for final resolution. The ITIC meets on an as-needed basis.

Current ITIC membership

Jayne Brownell, Vice President for Student Affairs

Phyllis Callahan, Provost and Executive Vice President Academic Affairs

David Creamer, Senior Vice President Finance & Business Services

Tom Herbert, Vice President University Advancement

Michael Kabbaz, Vice President Enrollment Management & Student Success

JP Natale, Vice President IT Services, CIO

Alan Ferrenberg, IT Services, non-voting

Change and Continuous Improvement Committee (CCIC)

Representing each of the major functional areas of the University, CCIC reviews all requests for IT projects. Using business cases prepared through the project intake and value engineering processes, the committee balances the value of the proposal with the availability of resources, and the probability of achieving the identified value. Meeting monthly, the CCIC maintains a list of active projects and a prioritized list of projects “on deck” to be started as resources become available. Unresolved issues and appeals to CCIC decisions are escalated to the ITIC.

Current CCIC membership

Lindsay Carpenter, Academic Affairs

Jen Herman, Enrollment Management & Student Success

Tim Jones, Advancement

Tim Kresse, Student Affairs

Todd Pashak, Office of the President/University Marketing & Communications

Sarah Persinger, Finance & Business Services

Steve Thole, IT Services

Alan Ferrenberg, IT Services, non-voting

Linda Lack, IT Services, non-voting

Troy Travis, IT Services, non-voting

Value Engineering (VE)

The VE team members review each project request. The goal is to prepare a clear statement of the costs and risks associated with each to inform the CCIC decision making process.

The specific objectives of the VE process are to:

  • Evaluate each proposal using a defined, repeatable, auditable, scalable process, to ensure consistency.
  • Manage the project requests, track and report progress, and determine dispositions in line with established standards.
  • Provide transparency by providing reach requestor visibility into the status of their request.
  • Communicate with the requestor and any identified stakeholders throughout the evaluation.
  • Set and manage expectations of all participants.
  • Engage appropriate resources (team, requestor, Client Engagement leads, product subject matter experts) to make informed determinations about the technology request.

Current VE team membership

Daniel Black, Enterprise Data Architect II

Robert Dein, Enterprise Architect

Tim Gruenhagen, Manager, Network Engineering

Connie Johnson, Data Security Analyst

Linda Lack, Enterprise Portfolio Manager

David Schaefer, Interim Director of Application Development

Jeff Triplett, Manager, Enterprise Database and System Operations

Kara Zirkle, Technical Specialist, Assistive Technology

Client Engagement

Seeking to infuse an understanding of each department or office’s business needs into the governance process from the very beginning, IT has assigned each vice presidential area a client engagement representative. Regular interactions build a partnership that serves as an incubator for IT project ideas. IT representatives serve as the first step in the project request intake process, working with requestors to frame a clear case ready for the next steps in the review process.

Current CE reps (link opens in external site)

Change Advisory Board

The Change Advisory Board (CAB) supports the assessment, prioritization, authorization, and scheduling of technology changes at Miami University. Meeting twice a week, the committee analyzes the risk of proposed changes to Miami’s production environment and seeks to minimize outages or other impacts on active systems to the extent feasible.

Current CAB members

Dave Beitz - CAB Chair “Champion of Production”

Josh Senn - Network Engineering

Frank Luo - Enterprise Database and Systems Operations

Pete Ferris - IT Process and Planning

Dean Harris - Enterprise Database and Systems Operations

Dennis Schwind - Network Engineering

Randy Hollowell - IT Communications

Bill Roi - Quality Assurance and Application Support

Bryan Powell - Advanced Computing and Systems Operations

Kelly Geng - Application Development

Subject Matter Experts as appropriate to each individual change