Miami University Symphony Orchestra a National Finalist for The American Prize

mu symphony orchestra2020decathlon2020decathlon students

The College of Creative Arts is excited to announce that The Miami University Symphony Orchestra is 1 of only 8 college/university orchestra programs in the country to be named a National Finalist in The American Prize in Orchestral Performance Competition. Based on recordings submitted from the previous year's concerts, we have advanced to the final round against some of the best college orchestra programs in the country, including those in Texas, Virginia, North Carolina, California, Washington, Oklahoma & Kansas.

The American Prize is a series of new, non-profit national competitions in the performing arts providing cash awards, professional adjudication and regional, national and international recognition for the best recorded performances by ensembles and individuals each year in the United States at the professional, college/university, church, community and secondary school levels. Administered by Hat City Music Theater, Inc., a nonprofit organization based in Danbury, Connecticut, The American Prize was founded in 2009 and is awarded annually. The competitions of The American Prize are open to all U.S. citizens, whether living in this country or abroad, and to others currently living, working and/or studying in the United States of America, its protectorates and territories.

NATIONAL FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Performance—college/university division,  2019-20

The eight finalists include:

Miami University Symphony Orchestra     
Ricardo Averbach
Oxford, OH    

OSU Symphony Orchestra 
Dr. Thomas  Dickey 
Stillwater, OK     

William & Mary Symphony Orchestra  
David Grandis
Williamsburg, VA    

Baylor University Symphony Orchestra        
Stephen Heyde  
Waco, TX     

Davidson College Symphony Orchestra
Tara Villa Keith  
Davidson, NC     

Sacramento State Symphony Orchestra
Ryan Murray 
Sacramento, CA    

University of Washington Symphony Orchestra  
David A. Rahbee 
Seattle, WA     

University of Kansas Symphony Orchestra 
Carolyn Watson 
Lawrence, KS 

Additional information can be found on The American Prize blog,