Alumnus and BAC member, Dinesh Paliwal, awarded 2017 Ellis Island Medal of Honor

March 2017

Alumnus and Business Advisory Council (BAC) member, Dinesh Paliwal, President and Chief Executive Officer of Harman International Corp, has just been named as one of only 88 Americans selected to receive the 2017 Ellis Island Medal of Honor by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations. Since its founding in 1986, the medal has been officially recognized by both Houses of Congress as one of the nation’s most prestigious awards.

“In that time, NECO has honored distinguished and diverse Americans, including six presidents of the United States, former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, as well as esteemed Americans such as Frank Sinatra, Lee Iacocca, Quincy Jones, Muhammad Ali, Nobel laureate Elie Wiesel, Louis Zamperini and Rosa Parks,” NECO noted.

“The medals of honor are given annually to individuals whose accomplishments in their field and service to the country are cause for celebration. Additionally, the medals of honor embody the spirit of America in their celebration of patriotism, tolerance, brotherhood and diversity. They recognize individuals who have made it their mission to share with those less fortunate their wealth of knowledge, indomitable courage, boundless compassion, unique talents and selfless generosity, all while maintaining the traditions of their ethnic heritage as they uphold the ideals and spirit of America.”

We are delighted to have Dinesh as a member of the BAC and pleased that he will be the keynote speaker for the 2017 Divisional Recognition Ceremony. Visit NECO for the entire list of awardees.

Dinesh Paliwal Ellis Island Medals of Honor logo