FSB alums receive Alumni Association Advancement Awards

Ben Vodila and Steve Snyder

A pair of Farmer School alumni will receive 2021 Advancement Awards from Miami University
later this month. The Advancement Awards honor those who have made a true difference at
Miami University, whether it has been through service to the university, enhancing the Miami
name nationally through their accomplishments or supporting Miami through a generous gift.

2003 economics graduate Ben Vodila will receive the A.K. Morris Award, which honors
members of the Miami faculty, staff, alumni or friend who carry on a tradition of service to
Miami’s alumni family and the Alumni Association.

The executive leadership recruiter at Oracle has worked to make the annual Cleveland Golf
Outing a success. Since its inception, the fundraiser has generated more than $65,000 in support
of the Cleveland Scholarship Fund.

“Ben is a fantastic champion of the Cleveland Chapter Scholarship Fund,” said Emily LeFevers,
assistant director of alumni chapters. “For 10 years, he has put in countless hours to raise money
for students in the Cleveland area. I could not think of a more deserving person to win this

Steve Snyder will receive the John E. Dolibois Award, which is presented to an alumna or
alumnus who has served Miami University in a distinctive fashion over many years. Snyder, who
earned an MBA in 1975, has been director of Miami’s Shriver Center, executive assistant to the
president and had two separate stints as interim athletic director. He has also served on Oxford’s
City Council twice and a term as Oxford’s mayor.

“Steve knows everyone, and everyone knows Steve,” said Kim Tavares, executive director of the
alumni association. “He has always worked for the best interests of the university and Miamians
everywhere. Steve and his family actively serve their communities, paying forward their Miami
values to make the world a better place. It is very fitting for Steve to receive this year’s John E.
Dolibois Award.”

The virtual award ceremony takes place Nov. 12 at noon. The event is free, but registration is required.