HCWE Faculty Writing Fellows Earn Promotion and Tenure

From Left to right:


By Mandy Olejnik

Miami University's board of trustees approved the promotion and/or tenure of 55 faculty members and one librarian at its February 25 meeting. Eight of these 55 faculty members are Howe Center for Writing Excellence (HCWE) Faculty Writing Fellows alumni, with five earning promotion to full professor and three earning tenure and promotion to associate professor. 

For promotion to full professor:

Thomas Garcia (Music, Spring ’21), Scott Kenworthy (Havighurst Center for Russian & Post-Soviet Studies, Fall ’20), Daniel Prior (History, Summer ’17), Haifei Shi (Biology, Fall ’18), and L. James Smart (Psychology, Fall ’19).

For tenure and promotion to associate professor:

Annie Dell'Aria (Art History, Spring ’19), Vrinda Kalia (Psychology, Spring ’18), and Ann Marie Wainscott (Political Science, Fall ’19).

Congratulations to our Fellows, who innovate writing instruction in their courses and across their disciplines. 

For more information on their work as Fellows, please see our list of Fellows' final projects, as well as Miami Writing Spotlights featuring Dell’Aria, Kalia, and Kenworthy.

We are thrilled to see their work recognized and are excited for further collaborations with them. Please join us in celebrating them.