Business - small group

Academic Program Review

Contact: Jim Oris, Dean of Graduate School and Associate Provost


The functions of the Academic Program Review Committee are to initiate and implement a continuing process of review of academic degree programs; to develop and recommend to University Senate a policy specifying the purposes, criteria and standards, and procedures of program review; to periodically re-examine that policy and, if necessary, recommend changes to University Senate; to conduct reviews of academic programs according to the established guidelines and procedures; to report regularly to University Senate; and to respond to inquiries.


Nine (9) tenured faculty members and at least one (1) of whom shall be a member of University Senate. Membership shall be for a term of two (2) years.

The faculty membership of the Committee shall be allocated as follows:

  • Three (3) from the College of Arts and Science (one each from the areas of the humanities, natural sciences, and social sciences).
  • One (1) from the College of Education, Health, and Society.
  • One (1) from the Farmer School of Business.
  • One (1) from the College of Engineering and Computing.
  • One (1) from the College of Creative Arts.
  • One (1) from the College of Professional Studies and Applied Sciences.
  • One (1) faculty member who is assigned to the regional campuses who is not affiliated with the academic division on the regional campuses.

Note: If warranted by the number of programs under review, one or two additional tenured faculty members to be nominated by the Executive Committee of University Senate in consultation with the Academic Program Review Committee Chair.

  • One (1) undergraduate student.
  • One (1) graduate student.
  • Two (2) ex officio, nonvoting members
    • One (1) designee of the Provost who shall serve as the ex officio nonvoting Chair of the Committee.
    • The Director of the Center for the Enhancement of Learning, Teaching, and University Assessment or his/her designee

Membership | two-year term

Chair, James Oris,

Senate Liaison, Alana Van Gundy, CPSAS (Criminal Justice),

Faculty and Staff

Term ends August 2015

Ron Becker (COM), CAS-social,

Joomi Chung (ART),

Kathleen Knight Abowitz (EHS),

T. M. Rajkumar (ISA), FSB,

Zara Torlone (CLS), CAS-humanities,

Hong Wang (CHM), CAS-natural,

Alana Van Gundy, CPSAS (Criminal Justice),

Term ends August 2016

Dmitriy Garmatyuk (ECE), CEC,

Paul Harding (BIO), Non-CPSAS,

Undergraduate Students

Austin Young,

Graduate Student

vacant position

Ex officio nonvoting

James Oris, Dean, Graduate School,

Rose Marie Ward, Director, Center for the Enhancement of Learning, Teaching, and University Assessment,