Faculty and Staff News

Andy SommerAndy Sommer (back row, second froml left) was recently recognized for 30 years of service to Miami University at a ceremony with President Crawford.

Stacey Lowery Bretz BooksStacey Lowery Bretz co-authored two general chemistry textbooks that were recently published by W.W. Norton: Chemistry: The Science in Context (5e) by Gilbert, Kirss, Foster, Bretz & Davies and Chemistry: An Atoms-Focused Approach (2e) by Gilbert, Kirss, Foster & Bretz. Research findings from the Bretz group were transformed into novel assessment pedagogy for the books. Each chapter begins with Particulate Review and Particulate Preview questions. The Review is a diagnostic tool that asks students to reflect upon their prior knowledge by interpreting molecular artwork. The Preview scaffolds the learning that is to come by asking students to look at new molecular artwork and extend their prior knowledge by making predictions about new concepts to be learned. A Visual Problem Matrix has been added to the collection of visualization problems at the end of every chapter. The matrix consists of macroscopic, particulate, and symbolic representations, followed by a collection of six questions that require students to identify commonalities and differences across the representations.

Janet MarshallJanet Marshall was recognized as a 2017 Outstanding College and University Educator by the Cincy Magazine.

Yasmin JessaMeredith ErbYasmin Jessa and Meredith Erb were promoted to Senior Lecturers(http://miamioh.edu/news/campus-news/2017/05/promotions.html?utm_source=All+Faculty%2C+Staff+and+Opt+In&utm_campaign=75a8125707-Miami_Wire_May_02_2017&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_41236ce523-75a8125707-109345753).

Gary LoriganGary Lorigan was recently named as Miami University’s John W. Steube Professor.

Ellen YezierksyEllen Yezierski was elected to be the 2019 Vice Chair and 2021 Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on Chemistry Education Research and Practice.

Yasmin Jessa and Meredith Erb were promoted to Senior Lecturers (http://miamioh.edu/news/campus-news/2017/05/promotions.html?utm_source=All+Faculty%2C+Staff+and+Opt+In&utm_campaign=75a8125707-Miami_Wire_May_02_2017&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_41236ce523-75a8125707-109345753).