Skip to Main Content
Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: March 2022

Authors, Accolades, and Achievements

Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: March 2022

  • Elizabeth Wardle, Roger & Joyce Howe Distinguished Professor of Written Communication and Director of the Howe Center for Writing Excellence, was recently featured on the Build Back Better podcast "Why People Can't Write, and How to Fix That." The podcast, hosted by the editor-in-chief of Entrepreneur magazine has an international listenership of over 50,000 people. 
  • The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has awarded Allen Ratliff, assistant professor of Family Science and Social Work, $28,837 for his project "Creating an Index of Incorporation Status for Examination of Racial and Spatial Health Inequities Within Counties." 
  • The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education(AACTE) has named Michael Dantley, Dean Emeritus of the College of Education, Health, and Society, as the new chair of its board of directors.
  • Jeff Wanko, professor of Teacher Education and a puzzle creator, recently appeared on the teaching podcast Amidon Planet, where he discussed how puzzles can help students develop logical thinking, creativity, risk taking, and agency
  •  Anthony James, associate professor of Family Science and Social Work, co-authored two articles for a special issue of the Journal of Child and Family Studies. 
  • Over spring break, 25 Sport Leadership and Management (SLAM) majors visited London to examine the management and culture of soccer. Students met with prominent clubs and organizations -- including AFC Wimbledon and the organizers of the UEFA 2022 European Championships -- to learn about the cultural inner workings of the industry.
  • Brian Schultz, professor of Teacher Education, and Denise Taliaferro Baszile, EHS associate dean and professor of Educational Leadership, are co-principal investigators on a new $200K grant from the Ohio Department of Education (ODE). The grant is designed to diversify the educator pipeline across Cincinnati Public Schools, and it’s part of ODE’s larger Addressing Educator Shortages in Ohio Grant Program, which aims to increase the number of K-12 educators through strategic statewide investments.
  • Professors of Educational Psychology Jason Abbitt and Sarah Watt, with Tammy Schwartz, director of the Urban Cohort, and Geneva Reyes, assistant professor of Teacher Education, received $62K as part of the I-Educate Dayton Region program, a partnership between regional institutions designed to address the teacher shortage.

Want to see your news in The Wrap-Up? Email us at