Skip to Main Content
Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: May

Authors, Accolades, and Achievements

Excellence and Expertise

The Wrap-Up: May

Sara Arter, assistant professor of Nursing, received the Regionals 2023 Excellence in Teaching award for full-time faculty, and Kent Bradshaw, adjunct faculty member of Interdisciplinary and Communication Studies, received the Excellence in Teaching Award for part-time faculty.

This past academic year, 18 Miami faculty, staff, and administrators participated in the Data Literacy Institute, a joint program administered by the Association for Institutional Research (AIR) and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU). The program provided universities with a year-long training to help participants more effectively use institutional data in initiatives related to student success. The 18 participants attended weekly classes (online) and collaborated on a capstone project.  The final capstone presentation was held on May 15.

The book "Familia, exclusión y el racismo de la peruanidad: La tía Eliana," (“Family, Exclusion, and the Racism of Peruvianness: Aunt Eliana") by Cristina Alcalde, vice president for Institutional Diversity and Inclusion, was reviewed by El Comercio, one of the largest newspapers in Peru and the oldest overall Spanish language newspaper in the world.

Matt Moore will serve as the incoming chair and associate professor for the Department of Family Science and Social Work. He has extensive experience combining his expertise in social work with college athletics.

Beth Miller, associate professor of Nutrition, won the Society of Nutrition Education and Behavior's 2023 Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Nutrition in Higher Education Award.

Ellen Yezierski, professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and director of the Center for Teaching Excellence, led a study that was recently amplified in the Royal Society of Chemistry’s "Education in Chemistry." The paper, Cognitively Loaded: An Investigation of Educational Chemistry YouTube Videos’ Adherence to Mayer’s Multimedia Principles, published originally in the Journal of Chemical Education, was co-authored by four undergraduate and four graduate students. 

Jordan Goffena, visiting assistant professor of Sport Psychology, gave the 2023 Ed Psych Lecture Series talk for Queens College. The presentation was also distributed across the Studying and Self-Regulated Learning (SSRL) special interest group for AERA.

Withrow High School math teacher and EHS alumna Mary Webb ’16, who received her Ph.D. in educational leadership, was named Educator of the Year for Cincinnati Public Schools.

Matthew Crain, associate professor of Media, Journalism, and Film, was a featured panelist at the Media, Inequality and Change Center at the University of Pennsylvania's Annenberg School for the event: Democratizing the Internet: Platforms, Pipes, Possibilities. He also moderated a session at Understanding & Combating Online Manipulation: Setting an Interdisciplinary Research Agenda at Cornell Tech

Katia Del Rio-Tsonis, professor of Biology, received $361,250 from the National Eye Institute for a project entitled "A Roadmap to Uncover RPE Plasticity."

Sara Arter, assistant professor of Nursing, received $134,553 from the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation for the project entitled "A Pilot Educational Intervention to Reduce Stigma and Support Ethical Decision-making of Nurses Caring for Mothers with Substance Use Disorder and their Children in Rural Communities."

Jennifer Green, clinical professor of Psychology, received $32,252 from the Oxford Community Foundation project entitled "OCF SBMH 23-24, Green."

Collette Loskoch Thompson, regional director of civic education, received $74,577 from AmeriCorps, with pass-through funds from the American Recovery Plan Act, for the project entitled "MVP Miami VISTA Program."

Scott Hartley, professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, received $480,000 from the National Science Foundation for a project entitled "Short- and Long-Range Structural Complexity from Ortho-Arylene Foldamers."

Catherine Almquist, professor of Chemical, Paper, and Biomedical Engineering, and Joanna Hohn, assistant director of outreach in the College of Engineering and Computing, received $15,000 from the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency for the project entitled "Renewable Energy Labs for Students."

Janet Hurn, senior director, Regional E-learning, received $80,000 from Downtown Middletown Inc., with pass-through funds from National Main Street Center and Google for the project entitled "Contract for Training and Coaching Services."

Stephen VanWinkle, chief of Miami University Police, received $163,414 from the Ohio Department of Higher Education for the project entitled "Campus Safety Grant Program." 

Joanna Hohn, director of outreach in the College of Engineering and Computing, received $100,000 from The Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Fund, of which $88,880 of this award is for the project entitled "Pipeline Development: Advancing STEM in Communities." The remaining $11,120 of this award is allocated to the project led by Yue Li in the Discovery Center.

Mark Scott, associate professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received $44,130 from the Strategic Ohio Council for Higher Education for a project entitled "An Evaluation of Silicon Carbide Devices for a 100-kw Active Rectifier."

Dmitriy Garmatyuk, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, received $26,406 from the Strategic Ohio Council for Higher Education for a project entitled "Enabling Autonomous Sensor Platform Operations via Intelligent Fusion of Functionalities." 

Jason Lane, dean, and Denise Taliaferro Baszile, associate dean for student services and diversity, of the College of Education, Health, and Society, and Brian Schultz, professor and chair of Teaching, Curriculum, and Educational Inquiry, received $100,000 from the Greater Cincinnati Foundation of which $83,500 supports the project entitled "TEACh Cincinnati Scale Up." 

 Want to see your news in The Wrap-Up? Email us at