Dr. Linda Marchant, 2017 Benjamin Harrison Award winner Dr. Linda Marchant, Professor in Anthropology and the 2017 Benjamin Harrison Award winner
Dr. Mahmud Khan, 2017 Distinguished Scholar Dr. Mahmud Khan, Assistant Professor in Physics and 2017 Junior Faculty Scholar
Dr. Allen McConnell, 2017 Distinguished Professor Dr. Allen McConnell, Professor in Psychology and 2017 Distinguished Professor
Dr. Kimberly Hamlin, 2017 Excellence in Career Development Awardee Dr. Kimberly Hamlin, Associate Professor in Global and Intercultural Studies and 2017 Excellence in Career Development Awardee
Kate Rousmaniere Dr. Kate Rousmaniere, Professor in Educational Leadership and 2016 Benjamin Harrison Award winner
Provost Provost's Student Academic Achievement Award winners - 2017

Benjamin Harrison Medallion

Presented in the spring semester, the Benjamin Harrison Medallion Award is one of the most significant recognitions Miami has to offer faculty for contributions attesting to qualities of teaching, research, and/or service. One side of the medallion given to the recipient is a likeness of Benjamin Harrison, the 1852 Miami graduate who became 23rd president of the United States, serving from 1889-1893. The other side reads, "For Outstanding Contribution to the Education of the Nation."

Selection Criteria

Nominees for this award must be a current member of Miami’s faculty, hold the rank of professor with at least eight (8) years of service to Miami and exemplify the best in the teacher-scholar model through the following criteria:

  • Evidence of the highest standards of teaching and advancement of student learning
  • Attainment of national and/or international stature in an academic discipline and/or an administrative area
  • Record of outstanding and diverse forms of service to Miami
  • Recognition of influence beyond his or her primary discipline as evidenced by distinction in endeavors that have served the profession, the university, the public or other disciplines exceptionally well


Calls for nominations are issued by the Awards and Recognitions Committee, an advisory committee of University Senate. Nominations for this award must address the criteria mentioned above and must include:

  • Letter of nomination which should specify how the nominee meets the criteria of the award
  • Nominee's current CV

Nomination materials for 2018 should be sent on or before November 1, 2017 to awards@MiamiOH.edu

Finalists will be selected based upon the above materials.  If selected as a finalist, the finalist should submit:

  • Personal Statement by the Nominee on His or Her Philosophy of Teaching, Research and Service
  • Additional letters of nomination to reach a total of six letters.  Each nominee should have a total of six letters (including the nomination letter) – three from internal to the University and three from outside of Miami.  The external nominators should have gained national and international stature in the field.
  • Documentation of the nominee’s teaching effectiveness and commitment to the advancement of student learning over past five years (e.g., listing of courses taught, by number and name, including the semesters and years in which the courses were taught; quality of teaching, including quantitative measures on which quality is based; amount and effectiveness of advising and mentoring; innovation and impact in curriculum development)
  • Documentation of quality of research and creative activity, including quality impact factors and evidence of national or international acclaim. Note: This information may be included in the C.V.
  • Documentation of professional, university and/or community service, including an indication of the significance of the nominee’s role. . Note: This information may be included in the C.V.

Selection Process

Nominations are reviewed by the Awards & Recognition Committee, and recommendations for finalists are submitted to the President and Provost who make the final selection. Notification of the award winners will be sent to the individual, the Dean and the nomination contact person in March. Notification of nominations that were not selected will be sent to the contact person or an appropriate senior member of the nominating team.


Award recipients will be recognized at a major awards reception hosted by the President and Provost in April