Student News

Rachel PolakRachel Polak (Biochemistry major with Spanish/Molecular Biology minors) was awarded the 2017 James Hershberger Memorial Undergraduate Research award. The Hershberger award is given to a major who conducted undergraduate research and is named in honor of James W. Hershberger.

Chemistry and Biochemistry MajorSixteen chemistry and biochemistry majors attended the 2017 National ACS meeting in San Francisco with our Miami Chemical Society. They were Nathan Burns, Adam Rivers, Rachel Serafin, Taylor Becker, Amy Trowbridge, Zachary Digby, Joseph Landers, Gwen Thomas, Joanna Orzel, Ratheish Pandian, Allison Theberge, Sophia Rafferty, Conner Henry, Avnika Bali, Meeta Bhardwaj, and Tori Seto.

Avnika BaliAvnika Bali (senior Biochemistry and Biological Physics) was named as a 2017 Goldwater scholar honorable mention. She was also awarded a 2017-18 Astronaut Scholarship. Avnika conducts research in the lab of Gary Lorigan.

Callie MillerAudrey ShortCallie Miller and Audrey Short have been selected as 2017-2018 Beckman Scholars. Supported by $21,000 scholarships, Miller and Short will conduct research with their faculty mentors this summer and next and through the intervening academic year.

Kenna KoehlerAllison KumnickPresident’s Distinguished Service Award ( Two biochemistry majors, Kenna Koehler and Allison Kumnick, received 2017 President’s Distinguished Service awards. Kenna Koehler is a biochemistry and premedical studies double major. Kenna has been extensively involved with Opening Minds through Art, an intergenerational art program for people with dementia, where she served first as a volunteer, then a student leader and currently as the treasurer. She also served as a sexual assault crisis advocate with Women Helping Women and an honors ambassador and conducted cardiac research with a faculty member on campus. Allison Kumnick is a biochemistry major with a neuroscience minor. Allison has been extensively involved in individual and group tutoring and supplemental instruction roles for various math classes on campus. Outside of the classroom, she has served two years on the executive board of Miami’s Med Life chapter and one term as president. Through Med Life’s Medical Brigades, she spent two winter terms traveling to provide basic medical care to rural impoverished communities and organized a fundraiser through Med Life to benefit the Oxford Free Clinic.

Zach KinneyZach Kinney was named as our 2017-18 Dissertation Scholar. Zach works in Scott Hartley’s research lab.

The 2017-18 Chemistry and Biochemistry Scholarship awardees were recently announced:

John H. Buckingham Scholarship
Hehe Wang (Senior)
Alex Kloster (Senior)
Alex Danielson (Senior)
Haley Ferguson (Senior)

Lester E. Imboden and I. Nadean Imboden Scholarship
Ashleigh Kmentt (Senior)
Andrew Kennedy (Senior)

Anastas Karipedes Memorial Scholarship
Andrew Katko (Senior)

William Hartmann Schwarz Scholarship
Julie Gravelle (Senior)
Bethany Renstrom (Senior)

E.O. and B.V. Weidner Chemistry Scholarship
Elise Leonard (Senior)

R. Thomas Davidson Graduate Award
Tanbir Ahammad
Will Joesten
Jennifer Reeves
Maia Popova

James Hershberger Memorial Scholarship
Rachel Polak (Senior)

Raymond E. and Vonna D. McBride Scholarship
Matthew Orischak