Below you will find information about the Department of English Upperclass Awards.

Application Deadline

  • The application deadline for all awards is March 17, 2018.

Descriptions of Awards

Each year, the Department of English uses endowments to present upperclass students with competitive awards in writing. Papers submitted should have been written in English or journalism courses by declared majors or minors, or by students who were enrolled in the courses during the spring or fall semester of the 2017-18 calendar year.  (However, certain journalism entries need not have been written for a course; see specific criteria below.)

The competitions are for the following awards

  • The Carl R. Greer/Andrew D. Hepburn Prizes in English
    Four awards: Past prizes ranged from $800 to $5,000.
  • The Edward J. Montaine Prizes in English
    Three awards: Past prizes ranged from $1000 to $3000.
  • The Almy Awards in Critical Studies
    Two awards, about $600 each.
  • The Daniel and Margaret Bookwalter Awards in Creative Writing
    Two awards, about $150 each.
  • The Linguistics Award
  • The Mary Jo Priest Memorial Awards in Professional Writing
    Three awards, $350 each.
  • The Literature Essay Award
    One award of $500

Guidelines for all Entries

Make sure your application is free of mechanical errors and clearly legible; remove or otherwise obscure instructor’s grades and comments. Photocopy and scan journalism entries. Observe specific guidelines for each individual award below.


The Carl R. Greer/Andrew D Hepburn Awards and the Edward J. Montaine Awards

The Greer/Hepburn and Montaine Awards have the same rules of application and categories.

Eligibility: Students who will have senior (Greer-Hepburn) or junior (Montaine) standing at the start of the 2018-19 academic year (Fall 2018), and who have a 3.0 or higher overall GPA. 

Journalism Category

A portfolio of five to ten published articles of journalistic writing and a cover essay of 250 words describing your growth as a journalistic writer.

The writing may be any combination of the following:

    • news stories, news features, editorials, reviews, feature articles, sports stories, columns

The writing must have been published in one of the following while the student was an undergraduate:

    • student newspaper, professional newspaper, web magazine, student newspaper web page, professional newspaper web page, student magazine, professional magazine

Poetry Category

A collection of poems—not more than five poems, single-spaced.

Creative Writing Category (Fiction or Creative Non-Fiction)

One story, excerpt from a novel, or essay—not more than twenty pages long, double-spaced.

Other information specific to the poetry and creative writing awards:

  • the student may submit only one entry, in either poetry or prose;
  • no winning manuscript from previous years may be submitted;
  • the contest will be judged by a writer not affiliated with Miami University;
  • the Department of English cannot be held accountable for loss of manuscripts.

The Almy Awards in Critical Studies

Eligibility: Any English major, English minor, or other student currently enrolled in one of the Department’s literature courses. Only students with a GPA of 3.0 or higher are eligible. Graduating seniors are not eligible because the award counts towards the 2018-19 academic year.

What you must submit: an essay with a maximum length of 20 pages that is informed by contemporary literary or cultural theory and that was completed in one of the Department’s courses.

The Daniel and Margaret Bookwalter Awards in Creative Writing 

Eligibility: All rising sophomores (i.e., will have sophomore status at start of the 2018-19 academic year) who are enrolled majors or minors in the Department or any rising sophomore who takes a Creative Writing course for credit during the current academic year.

What you must submit: either not more than five poems or one story or excerpt from a novel, not more than twenty pages long.

The Linguistics Award

Eligibility: All Linguistics majors, minors, or Miami students currently or formerly enrolled in one of the English department's linguistics courses.

What you must submit: An essay written for a linguistics course at Miami (between 5-15 pages in length). 

The Mary Jo Priest Memorial Awards in Professional Writing

This award memorializes Mary Jo Priest, a Technical Communication major, of which Digital and Technical Communication is a part.

Categories: One prize each for

  • Best Proposal or Report 
  • Best Rhetorical Analysis Essay or Project 
  • Best Public Argument 

Number of Entries: Students may enter only one submission per category, but they may submit in more than one category. They may submit in multiple years.

Eligibility: Students enrolled as majors or minors in any of the four tracks (Digital and Technical Communication, Editing, Public Writing and Rhetoric, or Self-Designed) in the Professional Writing program may submit entries.

What must be submitted: There are three categories: Best proposal or report; Best rhetorical analysis essay or project; and Best Public Argument, which can be made in a variety of media.

If you submit a brochure or poster, please submit two print copies of each entry; if you submit an essay or a digital project, please submit it as hard copy or as an electronic copy on a digital device (e.g., thumb drive or cd). If a web project, please submit the URL or all the necessary files on cd.

Professional Writing faculty will judge your submissions by blind review.

Students should indicate the award they are seeking and include with each entry the following:

  • A description of the audience, purpose, and context for which each communication was designed
  • Any relevant background information that will help the judges understand the communication and evaluate its effectiveness, especially why a particular medium or design was chosen

New for 2018!  The Literature Essay Award

Eligibility: Any Literature major or minor who wrote a critical analysis of a literary or cultural text for any English class during the 2017-18 year. 

What you must submit: an essay with a critical analysis of literature, media, performance or cultural studies; submit a minimum of 5 pages and a maximum of 15 pages (or excerpt).