Committees and Councils

Professor at equation-covered board in a mathematics class
Professor Coates talks to students in a MUM classroom
 Students and Scripps professor work together in small group, CAS

Academic Partnerships Committee

Chaired by Associate Provost, Carolyn Haynes, the Academic Partnerships Committee is the body charged with promoting mutually beneficial academic partnerships as well as the success of students transferring into and out of Miami University. Toward that end, the committee:

  • Develops and oversees processes for developing, approving and monitoring academic partnerships, including articulation agreements, transfer student advising guides, and internship agreements
  • Coordinates and ensures compliance with all transfer initiatives and regulations by the Ohio Department of Higher Education
  • Promotes best practices in cultivating and sustaining academic partnerships, transfer student success, and experiential learning.

Affordable and Open Educational Resource Committee

Chaired by Associate Provost Carolyn Haynes, the AOERC aims to ensure that Miami faculty and staff have access to affordable and free educational resources to advance teaching and learning. Key responsibilities include: creating and implementing grants and other incentives for affordable and open educational resource use; providing support to faculty and students to enhance the effectiveness of open and affordable educational resources; coordinating the use of Unizin Engage and Order Tool for e-textbook use, and assessing the effectiveness of the use of free and low cost educational resources in the classroom.

College Credit Plus Committee

The College Credit Plus Committee is an advisory committee established by the Office of the Provost and led by an associate provost to:

  • Ensure that Miami’s CCP program is following policy and regulations mandated by the Ohio Department of Higher Education;
  • Develop processes and policies at Miami to ensure the success of CCP students while also complying with existing internal and external policies and regulations;
  • Educate academic advisors and other stakeholders about the College Credit Plus Program and the needs of the CCP students.

Council of Academic Deans (COAD)

The Council of Academic Deans (COAD) serves as an advisory body to the Provost and normally meets biweekly. It is chaired by the Provost with membership comprised of the deans of the academic divisions, Graduate Dean, Dean of the Regional Campuses, Dean of the Dolibois European Center, the Dean and University Librarian, and others as determined by the Provost.

Faculty Assembly

Faculty Assembly is chaired by the President of the University. The actions of the University Senate are subject to the authority of Faculty Assembly to review and refer actions back to the University Senate and to recommend matters for the Senate's consideration. 

Undergraduate Academic Advising Council

Chaired by Associate Provost Jeffrey Wanko, the Undergraduate Academic Advising Council includes members from all academic divisions, Division of Student Affairs, Division of Enrollment Management and Student Success as well as the student body. The responsibilities of the UAAC are to promote the philosophy, policies, and procedures for academic advising at Miami University seeking input from various University constituencies; build support for and recognition of effective advising across the University through ongoing and clear communication efforts and annual awards and recognition for academic excellence; refine, generate, and coordinate professional development opportunities for faculty and staff on academic advising with an emphasis on best practices; improve, coordinate, and implement common tools for academic advising; and coordinate and maintain an ongoing plan for assessment of academic advising to ensure continuous improvement.

University Assessment Council

Chaired by Assistant Provost William Knight, the University Assessment Council includes members from all academic divisions who oversee assessment within their divisions, It also includes representatives from the Office of Institutional Research, Office of Liberal Education, University Libraries, and Student Affairs. The Council’s mission is to provide support for divisional leaders of assessment and promote a culture of assessment of student learning outcomes at Miami University in which data are used to improve the quality of the educational experience.

University Promotion and Tenure Committee

The University Promotion and Tenure Committee is charged with making promotion and tenure recommendations to the Provost. These recommendations may relate to university-wide promotion and tenure policies and procedures or to individuals who are recommended for promotion and/or for the conferral of tenure.

University Senate and University Senate Executive Committee

University Senate is the primary University governance body where students, faculty, staff, and administrators debate university issues and make recommendations on the policies and actions to be taken by the institution. It is the legislative body of the University in matters involving educational programs, requirements, and standards; faculty welfare; and student conduct.

University Senate Executive Committee is charged by the Bylaws of University Senate to manage the business of Senate. The Board of Trustees delegates to Senate primary responsibility for curriculum, programs, and course offerings and advisory responsibility on all matters related to Miami University.

National Fellowships Committee

The National Fellowships Committee oversees the candidacies of all Miami students interested in competing for select National Fellowship opportunities; and administers the campus nomination process that leads to Miami’s institutional endorsements of candidates for these opportunities.  The committee also manages the recruitment and advising of potential candidates and the marketing of fellowship opportunities and deadlines to the University community.