Skip to Main Content

University-Level Awards and Recognition

Recognizing Miami's Leaders

The following University-Level Awards are given to Miami faculty, staff and students in recognition of outstanding teaching, scholarship, creativity, research, service, advising, academic achievement, and dedication to Miami University. Please visit each award's website for award criteria and nomination information.

Premiere University Awards

Benjamin Harrison Medallion

Named for the 1852 Miami graduate who was president of the United States, the Benjamin Harrison Medallion Award is one of the most significant recognitions Miami has to offer to long-standing members of the faculty who exemplify the teacher-scholar model through their continuous significant contributions to teaching, research, and service. 

University Distinguished Professor

The title of University Distinguished Professor is conferred upon those faculty members whose achievements unequivocally merit the recognition. University Distinguished Professors receive an annual stipend for conducting research and other professional activities.

Distinguished Service

The Distinguished Service Award is the most significant recognition that Miami has to offer for employees who have made a significant impact on the life and mission of Miami University.

E. Phillips Knox Distinguished Teaching

This award recognizes faculty whose achievements unequivocally merit the recognition for excellence in teaching. Up to four awards are given annually with up to one award for each of the four levels of Miami University faculty.

University Faculty Scholar

The University Faculty Scholar Award celebrates the accomplishment of outstanding Miami researchers each year. Faculty Scholars receive a grant for the pursuit of further research or creative endeavor.

Excellence in Research & Innovation

This award celebrates the achievements of our faculty and staff in research and innovation by recognizing principal investigators and inventors for significant funding and patenting efforts in categories such as transdisciplinary research, educational pedagogy, outreach, economic development, and in academic disciplines including the arts, humanities, natural sciences, social sciences, engineering, education, and business, and commercialization.

Specialized University Awards

Affordable Education Leader

This award is given annually to a continuing Miami faculty member who demonstrates compelling and significant impact in areas related to affordable and open educational resources.

Excellence in Academic Advising

The Provost's Excellence in Academic Advising Award recognizes faculty and staff members who spend a significant portion of their time providing exemplary direct delivery of academic advising services to undergraduate students.

Roger & Joyce Howe Award for Excellence in Disciplinary Writing Instruction

This award is given to individuals or teams of faculty who have made concerted and continuing efforts to innovate writing instructions in their disciplines, to ensure that students in their courses are provided numerous opportunities to write and are supported in these efforts through innovative writing instruction.

Provost's Student Academic Achievement Award

The Provost's Student Academic Achievement Award (PSAAA) is given annually to students who have achieved an outstanding record of academic excellence. The selection committee reviews nominations and awards 10–15 students with a $1000 scholarship and certificate of recognition.

University Assessment Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions, commitments, and efforts that academic and academic support programs have made to their improvement through full-cycle assessment.