ASG Affordable Education Leader Award

Professor speaks to his class in language lab, CAS
Professor Scott Hartley, wearing protective glasses, talks with students in the lab, CAS

Award Description

Selected in partnership with the Affordable & Open Educational Resources Committee and the Associated Student Government, this award is given annually to a continuing Miami faculty member (tenure-track, tenured, TCPL faculty, instructor) on any campus who demonstrates compelling and significant impact in areas related to affordable and open educational resources.

Examples of impact include (but are not limited to):

  • Adopting or adapting free course texts;
  • Providing free electronic notes or textbook alternatives;
  • Using or incorporating free educational resources or materials in classes;
  • Creating open educational resources;
  • Publicly sharing research, works, projects or other educational resources on the Scholarly Commons or other scholarly repository;
  • Championing the goal of making use of free and affordable educational resources beyond the faculty member’s own classroom (e.g., presentations, publications, coordinating use of an OER across multiple courses or sections of courses).

One winner will be selected each year and recognized at an ASG Outstanding Professor Awards Banquet in April.

Nominations can be made by Miami undergraduate and graduate students, department chairs and deans as well as Miami faculty and staff members on all campuses and in all divisions. Self-nominations are also encouraged.

Selection Criteria

  • Quantity of contributions
  • Quality of contributions (depth of sophistication, level of thought, level of innovation, etc.)
  • Actual and potential impact, including educational benefit, economic impact and cost-savings for students, number of students impacted by OER use, etc.

All nominations, which can be submitted via the form below, are due by 5 pm on Friday, February 3, 2023.

For questions or requests for more information, please contact:

Amy Bergerson, Associate Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education,

Past Winners

2018: Dr. Andrew Paluch, Department of Chemical, Paper & Bioengineering

2019: Dr. Beth Dietz, Departments of Psychology and Social & Behavioral Sciences

2020: Dr. Annie Dell'Aria, Department of Art