Faculty assembly Sept. 16: Enrollment news, faculty and staff awards

Faculty assembly with President David Hodge will meet 4-5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 16, in Room 100 of the art building.

The meeting agenda is:

* Welcome and Opening Remarks – President David Hodge
* Update on Incoming Class – Susan Schaurer, director of admissions and enrollment communications
* Overview of the Division of Enrollment Management and Student Success — Michael Kabbaz, vice president, EMSS
* Q&A Session
* Recognition of Faculty Awards for 2014 – David Hodge and Raymond Gorman
  • Excellence in Academic Advising Award
  • Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Distinguished Scholar Award
  • Excellence in Career Development Award
Faculty assembly meetings are open. Faculty assembly is composed of all members of the faculty who hold a tenured or tenure-track position; all librarians who hold the rank of assistant librarian, associate librarian or principal librarian; and all members of the faculty who hold the rank of lecturer (including the senior rank) or clinical/professionally licensed faculty (including the senior rank).

Winners of the first three listed awards will be featured in upcoming Miami Matters editions:

Excellence in Academic Advising Award, Wednesday, Sept. 17
Distinguished Teaching Award, Thursday, Sept. 18
Distinguished Scholar Award, Friday, Sept. 19

Winners of the Student Affairs Excellence in Career Development Award were notified last spring but will be recognized at the assembly.

* Jim Kiper, professor and chair, computer science and engineering
* Julia Guichard, professor and interim chair, theatre
* Amy Summerville, assistant professor, psychology
* Heidi McKee, associate professor, English; Roger and Joyce L. Howe Professor of Writing; director, Howe Writing Initiative
* Patricia Troesch, instructor, kinesiology and health
* David Rosenthal, professor, marketing
* Jan Taylor, senior lecturer, marketing