University Senate action Sept. 8

University Senate heard reports Monday, Sept. 8, from Interim Provost Raymond Gorman, chair of University Senate, and Bryan Marshall, chair, Executive Committee of University Senate. 

Gorman highlighted the parliamentary procedures of University Senate and the responsibilities of University Senate and Senators.  Marshall reported on the April 25, 2014, and June 20, 2014, meetings of the board of trustees; and welcomed new senators and introduced members of the Executive Committee:  Terri Barr (marketing), chair-elect; Susan Brehm (speech pathology and audiology), at-large; Cole Tyman (student body president) undergraduate student; Nathan Schaad, graduate student; and Raymond Gorman.

Senate heard special reports:

  • Learning Management System Update - Beth Rubin, assistant provost for e‑Learning.
  • Enrollment Update – Susan Schaurer, interim director of admission and enrollment.
  • Division of Enrollment Management and Student Success- Michael Kabbaz, vice president.
  • Benefits Update – Dawn Fahner, director, benefits services.

Senate received items on the consent calendar including: the 2013-2014 annual reports of Senate committees; the curriculum report dated Sept. 3, 2014; summary of revisions to the 2014-2015 Miami University Policy and Information Manual; and the reappointment of Carolyn Haynes, associate provost, secretary of University Senate.

In Executive Session, Senate discussed a nomination for an honorary degree.  Authority to grant honorary degrees resides with the board of trustees; therefore, Senate’s recommendation is forwarded to the president. 

The membership of University Senate and the membership of standing and advisory committees of University Senate are posted on the Senate Web site: Senate approved the minutes of the April 28, 2014, Senate meetings.   

The next meeting of University Senate is scheduled for 3:35 p.m. Sept. 22, 111 Harrison Hall.