Skip to Main Content


Miami's various sustainability stakeholders include, but are not limited to, current and future students, parents, alumni, faculty, staff, suppliers, contractors, residents of the communities in which we operate, and those who live both within and beyond the boundaries of the state.

Timeline of Sustainability at Miami


  • Miami’s first sustainability coordinator (partial faculty release time) was appointed. David Prytherch, professor of geography, served 2009 through 2012.
  • Sustainability Committee formed.
  • Sustainability Education Coordinator, half-time position created. Position is filled by MEn graduate students annually.
  • Miami’s first LEED-certified building, Farmer School of Business, opened.
  • The Miami University Revolving Green Fund, for student-sponsored projects, established (it has been used for one project to date).


  • First Sustainability Commitments and Goals (SCAG) drafted by the Sustainability Committee; signed by Miami University President David Hodge in 2011.
  • The positions of director of sustainability, sustainability coordinator, and energy systems are within Miami’s Physical Facilities Department.


  • First Director of Sustainability and Energy Conservation position created. Yvette Kline served 2011-2016. The position was half-time duties in sustainability, half-time in energy conservation.
  • Stormwater Master Plan, which earned national recognition, developed by PFD.


  • Major geothermal heating and cooling system planned, Utility Master Plan (UMP) created.


  • Director of Energy Systems position created. Doug Hammerle director, 2013-2020.


  • 2010 SCAG revised and updated (See 2016 SCAG). Signed by Miami University President Crawford in 2016.
  • Director of Sustainability and Energy Conservation retires 2016. Position vacant July 2016 through July 2018.
  • The part-time Sustainability Education Coordinator served as the key sustainability liaison while a search for the new Director commenced, 2016-2017.
  • Utility Master Plan updated to plan for transitioning Oxford campus buildings off steam and onto geothermal, Heating Hot Water and Simultaneous Heating and Cooling systems.


  • Sustainability coordinator position vacant 2017-2018.
  • Full-time Sustainability Director within Physical Facilities Department position created, filled July 2018 by Adam Sizemore.
  • Sustainability coordinator position filled July 2018. IES graduate student Kelsey Forren served as coordinator.


  • Sustainability coordinator Kelsey Forren graduates; IES graduate student Olivia Herron, 2019-2020 coordinator.
  • Cecil Okotah, IES graduate student, served in new position of recycling coordinator, 2019-2020.
  • Received Gold STARS status from AASHE.


  • Historic COVID-19 pandemic.
  • September 2020: President Gregory Crawford signed the Presidents' Climate Leadership Commitments - Climate Commitment.


  • President Crawford adopts the Sustainability Pillars; 2016 Sustainability Commitments and Goals (SCAG) have been met and are retired.


  • Adam Sizemore, Sustainability Director in PFD, moves to USI; new director, Olivia Herron, begins in October.
  • New Director of Energy Systems, Malcolm Drane, begins in April.
  • Received Gold STARS status from AASHE.

Sustainability Committee

The Miami University Sustainability Commitments and Goals (SCAG) were first established in 2010 with broad stakeholder input and later endorsed by former President Hodge.

The Sustainability Committee reports to the President. Membership comprises representatives from academics, operations, and residence life. The Committee is chaired or co-chaired by a faculty member.

While Miami University’s Sustainability Committee does not implement the sustainability commitments and goals , their role includes communicating with entities that implement these policies and programs, and to report on progress in these areas.

people talking inside of the geothermal plant on campus

The Geothermal Heat Exchange Facility invites visitors to look through its windows or to schedule a group tour.